Command line options

jarvik79
Posts: 2702
Joined: 06 Nov 2013 09:01

Re: Command line options

#11 Post by jarvik79 » 12 Jul 2015 08:06

Is there any option to ignore plugins? Useful when editing maps etc.
User avatar
Cadde
Posts: 6806
Joined: 24 Apr 2013 18:08
Location: Have no fear, i am from the internets!

Re: Command line options

#12 Post by Cadde » 12 Jul 2015 08:36

You can change your home directory with the -homedir command line argument.
This effectively means you can have mapping mods in a separate folder.
On extended hiatus.
jarvik79
Posts: 2702
Joined: 06 Nov 2013 09:01

Re: Command line options

#13 Post by jarvik79 » 12 Jul 2015 08:48

Already do that, but doesn't stop the loading of plugins on launch, generating a nasty error when you're trying to use the editor.
Looking for a way of avoiding that without moving the plugins out of the folder every time I want to edit a map.
User avatar
Cadde
Posts: 6806
Joined: 24 Apr 2013 18:08
Location: Have no fear, i am from the internets!

Re: Command line options

#14 Post by Cadde » 12 Jul 2015 09:00

make use of symlinks then.
On extended hiatus.
jarvik79
Posts: 2702
Joined: 06 Nov 2013 09:01

Re: Command line options

#15 Post by jarvik79 » 12 Jul 2015 09:09

Welllll, yes, but if there's a launch switch that I'm unaware of, it would be far simpler. Hence my question :)
User avatar
DorinDXN
Posts: 1000
Joined: 21 Jan 2014 10:58
Location: Timisoara
Contact:

Re: Command line options

#16 Post by DorinDXN » 12 Jul 2015 09:46

You need to adapt the path accordingly

no plugin start

Code: Select all

IF EXIST "G:\Steam\SteamApps\common\Euro Truck Simulator 2\plugin\any_plugin.dll" rename "C:\Steam\SteamApps\common\Euro Truck Simulator 2\plugin" "xplugin" 
timeout /t 5
REM follows the code to launch ETS2
start steam://rungameid/227300
normal start

Code: Select all

IF EXIST "G:\Steam\SteamApps\common\Euro Truck Simulator 2\xplugin\any_plugin.dll" rename "C:\Steam\SteamApps\common\Euro Truck Simulator 2\xplugin" "plugin" 
timeout /t 5
REM follows the code to launch ETS2
start steam://rungameid/227300
cheers,
Dorin
Sent from my Mercedes or Peterbilt as seen here and it remains to be seen here
User avatar
Cadde
Posts: 6806
Joined: 24 Apr 2013 18:08
Location: Have no fear, i am from the internets!

Re: Command line options

#17 Post by Cadde » 12 Jul 2015 10:03

That works too.
And forgive me, i somehow got it into my head you had mod issues. Not plugin issues.
Dorins example works best.
On extended hiatus.
jarvik79
Posts: 2702
Joined: 06 Nov 2013 09:01

Re: Command line options

#18 Post by jarvik79 » 12 Jul 2015 10:05

Batch file, of course, how dumb of me. Thanks :)
User avatar
Smarty
Beta tester
Posts: 1983
Joined: 30 Jun 2015 01:56
Location: Ontario, Canada
Contact:

Re: Command line options

#19 Post by Smarty » 24 Apr 2016 18:28

I found my new favourite:

-dump_units <path_to_file>

It outputs all of the unit types with their associated attributes and the types of those units in a serialized format.

Example Usage:

Code: Select all

amtrucks.exe -dump_units "O:\smartyrigs\dumps\ATS_units_1_2.txt"
Example (partial) Output:

Code: Select all

  "accessory_addon_data":{
   "superclass":"accessory_data",
   "attrs":{
    "name":{
     "type": "string"
    },
    "short_name":{
     "type": "string"
    },
    "icon":{
     "type": "string"
    },
    "info":{
     "type": "string_array"
    },
    "price":{
     "type": "s64"
    },
    "unlock":{
     "type": "uint"
    },
    "suitable_for":{
     "type": "string_array"
    },
    "conflict_with":{
     "type": "string_array"
    },
    "defaults":{
     "type": "string_array"
    },
    "require":{
     "type": "token_array"
    },
    "exterior_model":{
     "type": "string"
    },
    "interior_model":{
     "type": "string"
    },
    "exterior_model_uk":{
     "type": "string"
    },
    "interior_model_uk":{
     "type": "string"
    },
    "coll":{
     "type": "string"
    },
    "look":{
     "type": "token"
    },
    "variant":{
     "type": "token"
    },
    "hide_in":{
     "type": "u32"
    }
   }
  }
It's extraordinarily useful for finding attributes that have been implemented in the code that haven't yet found there way into the base game asset defs (torque_curve[] for accessory_engine_data for example). It's also handy for seeing changes in unit structure between game versions. Of course, I found this after I dug through all of the strings buried in the executable. :lol:

Of course, it outputs everything so it helps to know the unit type you are looking for and use Ctrl+F while viewing the output.

Now I really want to find out what -edit_unit does... :geek:

There's also an export_truck string in the neighbourhood of the console commands which has me really intrigued...

Sorry to dig up an old topic, but I think it's justified to keep related content together.
User avatar
Cadde
Posts: 6806
Joined: 24 Apr 2013 18:08
Location: Have no fear, i am from the internets!

Re: Command line options

#20 Post by Cadde » 24 Apr 2016 22:03

WHAT??????????????????

Wow... I need that!
On extended hiatus.
Post Reply

Return to “Help center - player to player”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests