SCS Software

message board
It is currently 22 Oct 2014 14:09

All times are UTC + 1 hour [ DST ]

Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 498 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 ... 50  Next
 Post subject: ETS2 prefabs
PostPosted: 15 Feb 2013 12:19 

I didn't know where to put this topic so I'm starting here. Sorry if I'm wrong.
I'm a map builder. I'm trying myself to convert the ice prefabs from ET2 to ETS2, but I can't convert the .ppd files, or if i just place the same, the game crashes.
Any ideas? I'll be grateful. ;)

Post subject: Re: ETS2 prefabs
PostPosted: 15 Feb 2013 14:16 

Better just forget about it.

PPD are complicated. And even if you understand how these work, it would be very hard to transform old one to the newest format. Not only because the structures may be slightly different, new formats contains information not to be found in the older ones.

Just compare a prefab property window (in the editor) of an older game with that of ETS2. All that additional stuff has be stored also in the PPD, now.

BTW: ice prefabs? Are you talking of those cracking road segments of Extreme Trucker 2? I would be surprised if these could be triggered in ETS2. So, even if you would manage to enhance the PPD, these prefabs probably would remain without active cracking function.

PostPosted: 15 Feb 2013 14:21 

Reinhard wrote:
Better just forget about it.

PPD are complicated. And even if you understand how these work, it would be very hard to transform old one to the newest format. Not only because the structures may be slightly different, new formats contains information not to be found in the older ones.

Just compare a prefab property window (in the editor) of an older game with that of ETS2. All that additional stuff has be stored also in the PPD, now.