Different Controller Profiles?

nivam

Different Controller Profiles?

#1 Post by nivam » 20 Jan 2020 09:44

I started playing ETS2 with my son using a single profile, which I maintain since 2018. He doesnt want to create his own profile since I have all the money he needs to test various truck combinations. He also doesnt want to use our wheel and he prefers to use an XBOX controller.
Is it possible to have two different controller setups, each with its own button assignments? Every time we switch controller we have to reconfigure the controller's button assignments. As I see there is no way to save 2 different controller profiles in the game.

Is it possible to mix button assignements? That is accelaration assignment to 2 different axis (one for the wheel and one for xbox controller) and/or a key to two different buttons (one on a wheel and one on the xbox), but I dont want to loose the keyboard default assignments.

Thank you
Nikos
Underscore_101_

Re: Different Controller Profiles?

#2 Post by Underscore_101_ » 20 Jan 2020 17:06

There are probably some people here with more knowledge about it than I do, but the only way I would know how to have your own setup is to make a save of each setup and copy/paste/replace the one in the profile folder.

So if you set up a game with your control profile, go to the folder that has your profile, copy "controls.sii" and save it (for example in a folder on your desktop named "controls dad")
Have your son do the same with his setup (and of course put it in a different folder)

This way, whoever wants to play just copies and pastes his saved controls profile over the one in the profile folder.
Doing it this way may still require changing some settings, like what type of gearbox to use, but not every button, this depends on what other settings between you and your son are different.

Hope this was of help, I advise you to wait some time for people that know more about it to reply, but if that takes too long, try the above :-)