need some clarifications about ETS2 in linux

Post Reply
trick
Posts: 72
Joined: 08 Apr 2020 11:07

need some clarifications about ETS2 in linux

#1 Post by trick » 30 Jul 2020 21:18

hello all
i intend at some point put Linux on my main computer,
i was wondering if there were things i should be aware of about the gaming experience on Linux; any ups or downs i should know?,
any issues with stability? and mainly how is the performance?
i saw quit a few videos on YouTube and every thing seems to be running fine.

I'll probably install Pop_os since with laptops with dual graphics it's the easiest to configure and also stable even though i don't like Gnome/Ubuntu and would have preferred installing Manjaro on which i had a great experience on my secondary laptop.

also i intend on playing with Steam Proton and was wondering why is this section called Linux beta testing;isn't it like any windows game played with the right tools on Linux?or is there a special version that doesn't require Proton,lutris or the sort?

User avatar
Topolino.
Posts: 226
Joined: 22 Oct 2017 14:47
Location: Southern Germany (near Stuttgart)
Contact:

Re: need some clarifications about ETS2 in linux

#2 Post by Topolino. » 05 Aug 2020 19:18

A late answer, haven't seen this before.
I'll probably install Pop_os since with laptops with dual graphics it's the easiest to configure and also stable even though i don't like Gnome/Ubuntu
I don't get your point. Pop_OS uses GNOME as desktop environment and is based on Ubuntu. So if you don't like Ubuntu/GNOME, I also won't recomment Pop_OS. If you like a Windows-like user interface, try KDE Plasma, for example on Manjaro which I also use. (The great thing of Arch/Manjaro is the AUR.)
also i intend on playing with Steam Proton and was wondering why is this section called Linux beta testing;isn't it like any windows game played with the right tools on Linux?or is there a special version that doesn't require Proton,lutris or the sort?
ETS2 natively runs Linux; you won't need Proton. Except you want to use the map editor, you'll have to use Proton. That's what I am doing. But when you play with high graphics settings, the native version runs better than the Proton version (at least on my PC).
EuRoadNet team leader
MappingOnLinux! (Manjaro KDE)

trick
Posts: 72
Joined: 08 Apr 2020 11:07

Re: need some clarifications about ETS2 in linux

#3 Post by trick » 06 Aug 2020 10:06

i meant that despite the fact that i don't like GNOME,I'll probably install Pop_os anyway since with laptops with dual graphics it's the easiest to configure out of the box and the less troublesome.

Post Reply

Return to “Linux Beta Testing”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest