Wrong Speed Signs?

Post Reply
User avatar
GxGamer
Posts: 173
Joined: 20 Dec 2012 19:45
Location: Kiel, Germany
Contact:

Wrong Speed Signs?

#1 Post by GxGamer » 20 Aug 2014 18:00

Why are i getting tickets, when iam not driving to fast? This happens in some tunnels, like Paris, Hamburg. Signs show 70, ticket come with 60-70.

http://steamcommunity.com/sharedfiles/f ... =303222484

http://steamcommunity.com/sharedfiles/f ... =303222502


Rewritten report to reflect on another issue completely.

AI trucks are speeding in the Paris tunnel, speed limit is 70 for cars and 50 for trucks. AI trucks are following the car speed limits.

Code: Select all

 coords ; [20/08/2014  20:37] (sec-0008+0001);-30266;45.0771;6700.46
Image
Update/Patch: Replace the old, boring bugs with new and exciting ones!
Euro Truck Simulator 2 German Test/Review by GxGamer

User avatar
Swede
Beta tester
Posts: 412
Joined: 14 Jul 2013 13:10
Location: Stockholm, Sweden

Re: Wrong Speed Signs?

#2 Post by Swede » 20 Aug 2014 18:20

I think it is more like the camera not being set to the right speed as the road section. If you have RA on it will show 50 on the 70 zone, at least in Paris.

Made a report about it in 1.11.1, but I guess nothing has been changed to this version

viewtopic.php?f=147&t=157280&start=10#p272634 (bottom half)

User avatar
Cadde
Posts: 9535
Joined: 24 Apr 2013 18:08
Location: Have no fear, i am from the internets!

Re: Wrong Speed Signs?

#3 Post by Cadde » 20 Aug 2014 18:22

Not a bug, intended feature...

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Speed_limits_in_France
Vehicles over 3.5 metric tons of maximum total weight have lower speed limits. Lorries of more than 12 metric tons (except dangerous goods and trailers that may have lower limits) may not exceed 50 km/h in urban areas (even if the speed limit was raised to 70 km/h)
Game is accurately portraying this fact.
Make sure you go into your game Options > Gameplay > Route Advisor Speed Limit and set it to "Show truck limit" to see the actual limit for your truck.
Conclusion, you were speeding.

Moved to Frequently Asked Questions.
On extended hiatus.

User avatar
Swede
Beta tester
Posts: 412
Joined: 14 Jul 2013 13:10
Location: Stockholm, Sweden

Re: Wrong Speed Signs?

#4 Post by Swede » 20 Aug 2014 18:35

If that is the case then the AI truck is bugged as they are driving in speed of 70 km/h.

User avatar
Cadde
Posts: 9535
Joined: 24 Apr 2013 18:08
Location: Have no fear, i am from the internets!

Re: Wrong Speed Signs?

#5 Post by Cadde » 20 Aug 2014 18:38

Makes more sense.

Code: Select all

 coords ; [20/08/2014  20:37] (sec-0008+0001);-30266;45.0771;6700.46
On extended hiatus.

User avatar
Amy_N
Posts: 1098
Joined: 30 Aug 2013 01:36
Location: Salem, Oregon, USA

Re: Wrong Speed Signs?

#6 Post by Amy_N » 21 Aug 2014 17:28

When driving on earlier patches you saw a 50/70/90/110 km/h speed signs and that is what speed you drove (well I did :D )
Now, it seems that on the highways which used to be 90 km/h for trucks is now 80 km/h. I understand that if that is the speed you drove in real life, then make it so in the game for realism sake.

BUT... I try to drive without the full GPS most of time so on the on-board GPS it doesn't show the speed and so I rely on the speed signs....

Traveling along at 90 km/h as the road sign says, I get a speeding ticket.

Most streets in cities is 30 km/h but in the RusMap, it is 60 km/h and other cities in Europe is 50 km/h.

Now I am getting more speeding tickets than I ever did before :? --- In fact I am proud of the lack of speeding tickets or crashes I had... when I drove for a VTC, I had a clean record over 100,000 miles (kilometer) driven without a speeding ticket or a crash. In fact, when I saw a 90 km/h speed sign, I actually drove at 80 km/h. A careful woman driver :mrgreen:

Just would love a consistency --- And I understand that different countries might have different speeds in built up areas...

Amy
Amy N. Miller
Image

Your future is created by what you do TODAY, not tomorow!

User avatar
Cadde
Posts: 9535
Joined: 24 Apr 2013 18:08
Location: Have no fear, i am from the internets!

Re: Wrong Speed Signs?

#7 Post by Cadde » 21 Aug 2014 18:17

There are special signs at the borders of each nation (or there should be) that explain the different speed limits for that particular country.
This is what they looks like:

Image

They reflect the reality where you are faced with:

Image

That is, you are supposed to know this prior to entering France in a HGV, in real life. (Heavy Goods Vehicle)
For once, the "total realism" people in this game should be exploding from happiness...

Point is, it's complicated in real life too. In some countries you are treated with more "respect" at the borders:

Image

Best solution would be to have the current truck speed limit show on the on-board GPS as well. Or have someone make a mod that keeps the speed limit sign visible but hides the GPS map.
On extended hiatus.

User avatar
Cadde
Posts: 9535
Joined: 24 Apr 2013 18:08
Location: Have no fear, i am from the internets!

Re: Wrong Speed Signs?

#8 Post by Cadde » 10 Sep 2014 17:14

Moved back to Bugs.

(Note, i should have done this when i got the coordinates the first time. It must have slipped through my hands. Sorry)
On extended hiatus.

Post Reply

Return to “Bugs 1.12”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest