Importing base path.

Post Reply
stevieb71
Posts: 53
Joined: 13 Jan 2015 02:13

Importing base path.

#1 Post by stevieb71 » 19 Jan 2017 20:47

I know this has been done to death, but I ve speant the last few hours trying to understand what and where I'm supposed to set my base path to....

Now the what I'm trying to do, as my first ever go at Blender, is to alter 50_k's lightbox to fit onto a New shape Scania, i've managed to get it to work on the Scania, but it is slightly to far back on the madel, and it's only the ends that are visible.

Now I'm trying to use Blender to move the Lightbox forward a little.

I have extracted the files on to an external hard drive, now do I use this location as my base path

- D:\ETS 2\Accessories\50k_addons\vehicle\truck\50k_r_high\

Or am I supposed to use the location for ETS2, as shown in the video's

- C:\Users\User\Documents\Euro Truck Simulator 2\mod\

But as all my files are either ZIP or scs files in there thay are not being picked up by Blender.

Please can someone help as I would really like to have a go at some modeling as I've tried loads of different ways but nothing seems to work.

Thanks
Stephen

User avatar
AlexeyP
Posts: 1594
Joined: 06 May 2015 12:35
Location: Saint-Petersburg, Russia

Re: Importing base path.

#2 Post by AlexeyP » 19 Jan 2017 21:08

Base path is a root folder, where stored all mod data. If you extracted whole mod to c:\temp, your base path will be c:\temp.
Mod path is a folder, where located pmd file, which you want to export.

stevieb71
Posts: 53
Joined: 13 Jan 2015 02:13

Re: Importing base path.

#3 Post by stevieb71 » 19 Jan 2017 21:30

I had managed to get the PMD file into Blender, but it said something about it not being imported correctly.

Since I posted i've had a play about, and copied all the un-zipped files in to the mod folder and, hey presto its worked, I'm now having issues exporting, but i'll trial and error.

Thanks for the reply AlexeyP

Edited-

Well, i'm getting there, I have managed to move it forward, but its missing the texture, well I'll keep playing......

stevieb71
Posts: 53
Joined: 13 Jan 2015 02:13

Re: Importing base path.

#4 Post by stevieb71 » 19 Jan 2017 21:50

Any Idea's


Loading materials... ->
Import error: Can't find one of materials! Model is loaded without materials.

User avatar
AlexeyP
Posts: 1594
Joined: 06 May 2015 12:35
Location: Saint-Petersburg, Russia

Re: Importing base path.

#5 Post by AlexeyP » 19 Jan 2017 22:00

You can get errors after import (something about texture not found), if some of required by the model textures is not integrated in the mod, but loading directly from the game base packed in scs files in your steam game folder. You should extract (scs extractor tool) whole game base (base.scs, def.scs etc) and copy absent textures to your base mod folder.
Example: some accessories mod requires reflection texture (material/environment/generic_reflection.dds) from game base. But it is not integrated mod (most of the time to reduce mod size).
So you need to copy this texture to the folder, where you have your extracted mod and keep folder structure, of course.
How to know what texture(s) is(are) missing? Some times blender will tell you their names at "Info" screen. If not, open pmd file you want to import with some good (not windows notepad) text editor (i use notepad++).
Then you will see mat files which required by the model. Now open with editor (notepad++) these mat files too and you will know what tobj`s it uses. Every tobj file contain path and name of missing texture. Tobj can be opened with tobj editor or with notepad++ too.
Example of pmd file opened in blender. You can see all mat files it uses:

Code: Select all

         	               p  @   P   x   ђ   Ђ   ¤   д   (ИQ     8™q      зГs   ЭQќК€  Џ;;ТІ>  mdи    
kqт”         О№qн
                          д     R  ‰  А  ч  .  e  њ  У  
  A  x  Ї  ж    /automat/72/5ef8259ae66365fbccfc571ce40fe5ca3da75e.mat /automat/c5/7552cd8190952647159f1d1064bc2e2a4298f4.mat /automat/42/4cd8d79196b7b4f4cb1f6d73de3f35f31efec2.mat /automat/08/a0c96a6367dc608564fae00f624301a983a58c.mat /automat/c8/cd96a7b6cf5ec20de372d2940e9f81c726beb7.mat /automat/30/bc692405cd74d25af21e7e77dfe4a112e37971.mat /automat/d4/ea529194346e4a5667cf0c2c327fe92ed7d407.mat /automat/e2/dbb6980b8d809bd5cdb22e84a597ccb1c880d5.mat /automat/72/5ef8259ae66365fbccfc571ce40fe5ca3da75e.mat /automat/c5/7552cd8190952647159f1d1064bc2e2a4298f4.mat /automat/42/4cd8d79196b7b4f4cb1f6d73de3f35f31efec2.mat /automat/4b/b262f02440f07f0b91c9af1a11318b49f6a548.mat /automat/c8/cd96a7b6cf5ec20de372d2940e9f81c726beb7.mat /automat/30/bc692405cd74d25af21e7e77dfe4a112e37971.mat /automat/d4/ea529194346e4a5667cf0c2c327fe92ed7d407.mat /automat/e2/dbb6980b8d809bd5cdb22e84a597ccb1c880d5.mat 

stevieb71
Posts: 53
Joined: 13 Jan 2015 02:13

Re: Importing base path.

#6 Post by stevieb71 » 19 Jan 2017 22:09

Thanks again, I'll give it a try.

User avatar
Braakie
Posts: 174
Joined: 14 Feb 2016 21:23
Location: Holland
Contact:

Re: Importing base path.

#7 Post by Braakie » 19 Jan 2017 22:09

stevieb71 wrote:Any Idea's


Loading materials... ->
Import error: Can't find one of materials! Model is loaded without materials.
For base folder of ETS2, you must extract first the Base and Def file from the originele game files that stored in your ets2 install folder. You should using the original game files for the base path, and for the MOD path the mod you want to import. The mod uses data from the original files on import, therefore you miss materials etc. The link below describes how you can extract the original files. Then you can refer to the base path to the extracted folder of the original ETS2 files. The mod directory is the directory where you extracted the mod.

viewtopic.php?f=172&t=190685

stevieb71
Posts: 53
Joined: 13 Jan 2015 02:13

Re: Importing base path.

#8 Post by stevieb71 » 19 Jan 2017 23:16

Cheers I had extracted the base and def files ages ago, but I hadnt set that as my base. still getting the issue though, but i think ill leave it for tonight as my brain is pooped.

stevieb71
Posts: 53
Joined: 13 Jan 2015 02:13

Re: Importing base path.

#9 Post by stevieb71 » 20 Jan 2017 09:19

Well, i've finally managed my first ever Blender job, took some time to figure out what was happening, but with the power of the internet, i got it finished.

Image

What was happening, was when I was going to Export the file, and setting the Export Orign directory, I was copying the path from the top box and deleting the none related stuff.

\vehicle\truck\50k_r_high\

I was getting back slashes in, instead of forward slashes as was how its written in the directory at the top.

Thanks for those that replied.

User avatar
Braakie
Posts: 174
Joined: 14 Feb 2016 21:23
Location: Holland
Contact:

Re: Importing base path.

#10 Post by Braakie » 20 Jan 2017 11:46

Good that it has been resolved, btw nice truck

Post Reply

Return to “Blender Tools”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest