Paths init. prevents me from importing anything. [SOLVED]

Post Reply
User avatar
MandelSoft
SCS Software
Posts: 807
Joined: 23 Aug 2013 18:55
Location: Praha, CZ
Contact:

Paths init. prevents me from importing anything. [SOLVED]

#1 Post by MandelSoft » 18 Mar 2017 20:00

So, I've recently upgraded to the latest version of Blender Tools and I'm encountering a serious problem: I can't import any model anymore because the paths initalisation is taking all eternity to complete, and I don't see any indication of progress either. I'm waiting for 10 minutes already and it's still busy initialising. Something tells me that this shouldn't take that long. This wasn't a problem in earlier versions of the tool.

Do note that I have a large base folder (I'm dealing with a lot of models) and that I'm using Blender 2.78.0. I have quite a lot of old models to fix so they are compatible with 1.27, but I need to be able to actually open them first ;)

EDIT: It also freezes all the SCS Blender Tools when it restarts initialisation. I also can't seem to find a log file to see what goes wrong.
╔═══╦═══╦═══╗──╔═══╗
║╔══╣╔══╣╔══╝──║╔══╝──╔═╦╗
║╚══╣║──║╚══╗──║╚══╦══╣╔╝╚╦╦╦╦══╦═╦══╗
╚══╗║║──╚══╗║──╚══╗║╔╗║╚╗╔╣║║╠══║╔╣══║
╔══╝║╚══╦══╝║──╔══╝║╚╝║╔╣╚╣║║║══║║║══╣
╚═══╩═══╩═══╝──╚═══╩══╩╝╚═╩══╩══╩╝╚══╝
I'm a Dutchie in Czechia!

User avatar
50keda
SCS Software
Posts: 2066
Joined: 07 Dec 2012 11:59

Re: Paths initialisation prevents me from importing anything

#2 Post by 50keda » 19 Mar 2017 10:01

You sure you have 1.7.3 release version? Because this was known problem in 1.7.2 ;)

PS: If you still don't solve it until tomorrow, let me know over mattermost ;)

User avatar
MandelSoft
SCS Software
Posts: 807
Joined: 23 Aug 2013 18:55
Location: Praha, CZ
Contact:

Re: Paths initialisation prevents me from importing anything

#3 Post by MandelSoft » 19 Mar 2017 11:26

Yes, I'm positive:

Image

This is the version I downloaded yesterday, version 1.7.3.

And for more clarification: this message won't go away:
Image
╔═══╦═══╦═══╗──╔═══╗
║╔══╣╔══╣╔══╝──║╔══╝──╔═╦╗
║╚══╣║──║╚══╗──║╚══╦══╣╔╝╚╦╦╦╦══╦═╦══╗
╚══╗║║──╚══╗║──╚══╗║╔╗║╚╗╔╣║║╠══║╔╣══║
╔══╝║╚══╦══╝║──╔══╝║╚╝║╔╣╚╣║║║══║║║══╣
╚═══╩═══╩═══╝──╚═══╩══╩╝╚═╩══╩══╩╝╚══╝
I'm a Dutchie in Czechia!

User avatar
MandelSoft
SCS Software
Posts: 807
Joined: 23 Aug 2013 18:55
Location: Praha, CZ
Contact:

Re: Paths initialisation prevents me from importing anything

#4 Post by MandelSoft » 20 Mar 2017 21:45

I checked the log again and for one of the sign SII files it gave an error. Since it was not that important anyway, I removed it from the def folder and now it finally works :D
╔═══╦═══╦═══╗──╔═══╗
║╔══╣╔══╣╔══╝──║╔══╝──╔═╦╗
║╚══╣║──║╚══╗──║╚══╦══╣╔╝╚╦╦╦╦══╦═╦══╗
╚══╗║║──╚══╗║──╚══╗║╔╗║╚╗╔╣║║╠══║╔╣══║
╔══╝║╚══╦══╝║──╔══╝║╚╝║╔╣╚╣║║║══║║║══╣
╚═══╩═══╩═══╝──╚═══╩══╩╝╚═╩══╩══╩╝╚══╝
I'm a Dutchie in Czechia!

User avatar
50keda
SCS Software
Posts: 2066
Joined: 07 Dec 2012 11:59

Re: Paths initialisation prevents me from importing anything

#5 Post by 50keda » 20 Mar 2017 22:58

Still this shouldn't happen or at least user should be notified somehow. So I would ask you to send me that problematic SII file, so I can improve reporting of this error and not blocking whole tools because of it ;)

User avatar
MandelSoft
SCS Software
Posts: 807
Joined: 23 Aug 2013 18:55
Location: Praha, CZ
Contact:

Re: Paths initialisation prevents me from importing anything

#6 Post by MandelSoft » 20 Mar 2017 23:18

Sure. It's the file attached below. We are actually busy cleaning up this file.
Attachments
sign.poland.zip
DEF file that breaks the BT.
(15.93 KiB) Downloaded 17 times
╔═══╦═══╦═══╗──╔═══╗
║╔══╣╔══╣╔══╝──║╔══╝──╔═╦╗
║╚══╣║──║╚══╗──║╚══╦══╣╔╝╚╦╦╦╦══╦═╦══╗
╚══╗║║──╚══╗║──╚══╗║╔╗║╚╗╔╣║║╠══║╔╣══║
╔══╝║╚══╦══╝║──╔══╝║╚╝║╔╣╚╣║║║══║║║══╣
╚═══╩═══╩═══╝──╚═══╩══╩╝╚═╩══╩══╩╝╚══╝
I'm a Dutchie in Czechia!

User avatar
MandelSoft
SCS Software
Posts: 807
Joined: 23 Aug 2013 18:55
Location: Praha, CZ
Contact:

Re: Paths initialisation prevents me from importing anything

#7 Post by MandelSoft » 22 Mar 2017 23:27

OK, I replicated the bug and I added everything the console dumped. You can see that the log gives an error while it is reading sign.poland.sii. Maybe this will help:

Code: Select all

DEBUG   -  Going to parse sign library file:
           'E:\\Projecten\\ETS Mods\\base\\def/world\\sign.poland.sii'
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "C:\Applicaties\Blender\2.78\scripts\addons\io_scs_tools\properties\world.py", line 282, in sign_library_rel_path_update
    self.sign_library_rel_path)
  File "C:\Applicaties\Blender\2.78\scripts\addons\io_scs_tools\internals\containers\config.py", line 260, in update_sign_library_rel_path
    sign_container = _sii.get_data_from_file(sign_library_filepath)
  File "C:\Applicaties\Blender\2.78\scripts\addons\io_scs_tools\internals\containers\sii.py", line 33, in get_data_from_file
    container = _sii.parse_file(filepath)
  File "C:\Applicaties\Blender\2.78\scripts\addons\io_scs_tools\internals\containers\parsers\sii.py", line 335, in parse_file
    lines = file.readlines()
  File "C:\Applicaties\Blender\2.78\python\lib\encodings\cp1252.py", line 23, in decode
    return codecs.charmap_decode(input,self.errors,decoding_table)[0]
UnicodeDecodeError: 'charmap' codec can't decode byte 0x81 in position 3826: character maps to <undefined>
File "C:\Applicaties\Blender\2.78\scripts\addons\io_scs_tools\properties\world.py", line 280, in sign_library_rel_path_update
Attachments
blender_log.zip
(19.63 KiB) Downloaded 9 times
╔═══╦═══╦═══╗──╔═══╗
║╔══╣╔══╣╔══╝──║╔══╝──╔═╦╗
║╚══╣║──║╚══╗──║╚══╦══╣╔╝╚╦╦╦╦══╦═╦══╗
╚══╗║║──╚══╗║──╚══╗║╔╗║╚╗╔╣║║╠══║╔╣══║
╔══╝║╚══╦══╝║──╔══╝║╚╝║╔╣╚╣║║║══║║║══╣
╚═══╩═══╩═══╝──╚═══╩══╩╝╚═╩══╩══╩╝╚══╝
I'm a Dutchie in Czechia!

User avatar
50keda
SCS Software
Posts: 2066
Joined: 07 Dec 2012 11:59

Re: Paths initialisation prevents me from importing anything

#8 Post by 50keda » 27 Mar 2017 22:37

This was due to used encoding for decode of text files including sii files. Next version will force all files to be read/written in UTF-8.

So to sum up: it will be released in next version 1.7.4 so topic title can be marked as solved, thx.

Post Reply

Return to “Bugs”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests