Using ConverterPIX to be able to import with Blender Tools?

Using ConverterPIX to be able to import with Blender Tools?

I never heard of ConverterPIX
11
14%
I am using it but it's frustrating and complicated
7
9%
I am happy with it as it is
6
8%
I would like support for it in Blender, so I could directly import model from mod or base.scs
52
68%
 
Total votes: 76

User avatar
50keda
SCS Software
Posts: 1685
Joined: 07 Dec 2012 11:59

Using ConverterPIX to be able to import with Blender Tools?

#1 Post by 50keda » 13 Dec 2016 09:40

Make a wise choice :P
Last edited by 50keda on 13 Dec 2016 12:16, edited 2 times in total.

User avatar
Moh1336
Beta tester
Posts: 6812
Joined: 05 Jul 2013 09:44
Location: Yorkshire
Contact:

Re: Using ConverterPIX to be able to import with Blender Too

#2 Post by Moh1336 » 13 Dec 2016 09:48

I've used it and it's somewhat useful. However the lack of good tutorials for BT means I always return to B2SCS any way.

Having support in BT so I can just directly import into BT without converting would be far more useful, and would probably go a long way for pushing me into BT instead of B2scs.

For an average user B2SCS is just a much more user friendly, it's simple and easy to use. BT not so much.
My Blog/Mod page: http://ijsmods.wordpress.com
I reserve the right to be 100% wrong.
Image

User avatar
aradeth
Posts: 2015
Joined: 23 Aug 2014 21:33

Re: Using ConverterPIX to be able to import with Blender Too

#3 Post by aradeth » 13 Dec 2016 10:09

In fact BTools is more user friendly and a better tool.

But as you know 50keda, the usual import process for BTools is just so unnecessary for a user/player. That's why nobody wants to use it.

But after m4wl released ConverterPIX, it's really easy now, thanks to him.


So if you're planning to add direct pmd/pmg importing support for amazing BTools, please do that. No need for a poll :D
Image
Image
Image
Image

User avatar
50keda
SCS Software
Posts: 1685
Joined: 07 Dec 2012 11:59

Re: Using ConverterPIX to be able to import with Blender Too

#4 Post by 50keda » 13 Dec 2016 10:10

@Moh and lack of tutorials: Well there is a thread for tutorial suggestions: viewtopic.php?f=159&t=221879

@aradeth: well actually.... not direct support. Instead unofficial add-on which will utilize both ConverterPIX and BT, so you would have one click import from binary again :D Also I need number, because there is not enough interest then not sure if it will happen ;)

User avatar
SimulatorSam
Global moderator
Posts: 5679
Joined: 05 Mar 2014 17:52
Location: United Kingdom
Contact:

Re: Using ConverterPIX to be able to import with Blender Too

#5 Post by SimulatorSam » 13 Dec 2016 10:17

I was thinking about this myself, as an add-on to an add-on. :D I'm all for it! :P
ImageImage
ImageImage

User avatar
Moh1336
Beta tester
Posts: 6812
Joined: 05 Jul 2013 09:44
Location: Yorkshire
Contact:

Re: Using ConverterPIX to be able to import with Blender Too

#6 Post by Moh1336 » 13 Dec 2016 10:28

I think most people using BT, or people like me that would like to make the switch but finding it too difficult (I have anxiety issues, so written tutorials just don't help at all lol) would be very interested in this being added to make it a one click import.

The issue is getting the word out so people know the poll exists. Perhaps it could be mentioned on the next blog post if one is coming this week. :P
My Blog/Mod page: http://ijsmods.wordpress.com
I reserve the right to be 100% wrong.
Image

User avatar
retoucher
Posts: 110
Joined: 26 Dec 2012 09:49
Location: Hungary
Contact:

Re: Using ConverterPIX to be able to import with Blender Too

#7 Post by retoucher » 20 Dec 2016 21:11

Hey 50k!

When will be released this feature?! ;)
Is it possible before Xmas?
It's would be nice! 8-)

User avatar
tobrago
Posts: 322
Joined: 19 Jun 2013 12:54
Location: Serbia

Re: Using ConverterPIX to be able to import with Blender Too

#8 Post by tobrago » 08 Jan 2017 18:51

Great program, mwl4 I wish you success in your work.

I can commend that I finally managed to import my mod in a blender tools.
There's more stuff to finishing yet to start is great.

Image

:)
Google translator
Greetings and cheers
Keep truckin'

Понекад се чудим самом себи.
Image
World Of Truck | Steam

JohannesKauffmann
Posts: 2
Joined: 26 Oct 2016 20:05

Re: Using ConverterPIX to be able to import with Blender Too

#9 Post by JohannesKauffmann » 22 Jan 2017 12:10

I think you should

1. Raise attention and awareness to this poll on the next blog post, as user Moh1336 already said.

2. Create either an official or unofficial add-on for Blender Tools. When learning modding, I think it's crucial to learn from already existing models, otherwise one has no idea where to start.

Another solution would be for SCS to release their models in the Prism intermediate formats, but IMO this add-on would be a lot easier.

User avatar
Moh1336
Beta tester
Posts: 6812
Joined: 05 Jul 2013 09:44
Location: Yorkshire
Contact:

Re: Using ConverterPIX to be able to import with Blender Too

#10 Post by Moh1336 » 22 Jan 2017 18:02

I'm not sure it's really necessary at this point, the poll is already rather one sided. :D
My Blog/Mod page: http://ijsmods.wordpress.com
I reserve the right to be 100% wrong.
Image

Post Reply

Return to “General discussion”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest