[FIXED][1.8][Export] Check proper root names

Post Reply
User avatar
ohaha
Global moderator
Posts: 16961
Joined: 07 Dec 2012 06:31
Location: Watchin' y'all
Contact:

[FIXED][1.8][Export] Check proper root names

#1 Post by ohaha » 09 Jun 2016 03:00

I just had some minor error messages, when running the conversion tool.
At the end of one of the roots there was a space (my mistake), and the conversion process failed to convert, complaining about some wrong file extension.

e.g. one of the root objects was named "log_tandem ". In Blender is rather easy to miss the space at the end.

I quickly identified it and removed the space from the pim, pit, pic file names and the conversion was completed successfully, at the second run. Also, corrected the name in 3D, for future exports (if needed).

Though this isn't a true bug, I think there should be some checks implemented, in the exporting process, to warn the user about the proper name of the root.
Or simply have that (those) space(s) removed, upon export.
ImageImage
ImageImage

User avatar
50keda
SCS Software
Posts: 2086
Joined: 07 Dec 2012 11:59

Re: [1.8][Export] Check if there is a space character at the

#2 Post by 50keda » 09 Jun 2016 19:46

I guess error before export will be the best solution. Because different users expect different things so striping name on export might be problem for someone...so the safest solution is just to put out error: SCS Root "blbabldf fdfsd" has invalid name, export aborted. Only a-z, A-Z, 0-9 and "._-" characters can be used.

User avatar
ohaha
Global moderator
Posts: 16961
Joined: 07 Dec 2012 06:31
Location: Watchin' y'all
Contact:

Re: [1.8][Export] Check if there is a space character at the

#3 Post by ohaha » 10 Jun 2016 14:47

True :)
ImageImage
ImageImage

User avatar
50keda
SCS Software
Posts: 2086
Joined: 07 Dec 2012 11:59

Re: [1.8][Export] Check if there is a space character at the

#4 Post by 50keda » 30 Sep 2016 15:44

Will be done in 1.5!

User avatar
ohaha
Global moderator
Posts: 16961
Joined: 07 Dec 2012 06:31
Location: Watchin' y'all
Contact:

Re: [1.8][Export] Check if there is a space character at the

#5 Post by ohaha » 26 Feb 2017 07:47

Thank you, my friend! :)
ImageImage
ImageImage

Post Reply

Return to “Bugs”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest