Why is ATS/ETS2 so badly optimized.

User avatar
DGAF_AK87
Posts: 45
Joined: 26 Feb 2015 19:42
Location: Raleigh, N.C.
Contact:

Re: Why is ATS/ETS2 so badly optimized.

#11 Post by DGAF_AK87 » 17 Sep 2020 14:34

The messed something up, I'm struggling with a 3600x 2070s combo. Not sure what they did but it needs looked into.... honestly before a new map comes out

User avatar
jyry
Posts: 206
Joined: 09 Aug 2018 13:25
Location: Brünn-Königsfeld

Re: Why is ATS/ETS2 so badly optimized.

#12 Post by jyry » 17 Sep 2020 17:59

optimalization? :-)
for vanilla game 4K 60FPS scaling 100% medium details SSAO off - i7 + 2070 super is not enough (it's not smooth, even if it's not a fully loaded processor and graphics card + no background processes)
I will try i9 + 3080

User avatar
Oldspice
Posts: 23
Joined: 09 Nov 2019 03:50
Location: Australia

Re: Why is ATS/ETS2 so badly optimized.

#13 Post by Oldspice » 18 Sep 2020 02:49

My apologies i thought the term 'badly-optimized' refered to the games issues i am having. anyhow you get what i mean lol.
I borrowed my mates 5700xt and the exact same problems, which is sad because its my fav game ever.
Im no pc expert at all, far from it, but this is doing my head in seriusly man. And my 52yo eyes cant take it no more either too.
anyhow Thanks for the input gents. :)
B-Double Truck Driver Australia 30+ years

Some newbie driver
Posts: 3692
Joined: 12 Dec 2018 11:37

Re: Why is ATS/ETS2 so badly optimized.

#14 Post by Some newbie driver » 18 Sep 2020 06:26

jyry wrote:
17 Sep 2020 17:59
for vanilla game 4K 60FPS scaling 100% medium details SSAO off - i7 + 2070 super is not enough (it's not smooth, even if it's not a fully loaded processor and graphics card + no background processes)
I will try i9 + 3080
You will try that hardware and you will notice almost any change (a bit for the CPU, a total waste of money the GPU unless you play lots of other more demanding games). Read what I said before. And yes, your processor IS fully loaded for what SCS games concerns. 1 core fully loaded; that's the max you will see for quite the time.

Some of you don't understand that not all games cant squeeze all the hardware you throw to them. That to have spent a lot more money than others in your computer doesn't make the game skyrocket. Things doesn't work that way; not just only with SCS games. And when I say you that SCS games will take only 1 core, that doesn't mean that you are going to see 1 of the cores of your CPU at 100% in the task manager (or in any other monitoring). That's neither how CPUs work.

Regards

User avatar
Oldspice
Posts: 23
Joined: 09 Nov 2019 03:50
Location: Australia

Re: Why is ATS/ETS2 so badly optimized.

#15 Post by Oldspice » 18 Sep 2020 08:42

Thanks somenewbiedriver for the info, i realize now to just enjoy until future fixes perhaps.
No point expecting results with newer/better cpu's + gpu's as not going to make any differense.
Regards
B-Double Truck Driver Australia 30+ years

User avatar
cip
Posts: 5962
Joined: 26 Aug 2016 08:14
Location: Brussels

Re: Why is ATS/ETS2 so badly optimized.

#16 Post by cip » 18 Sep 2020 08:51

another thing to consider, both ATS and ETS2 will run perfectly with no mods in any decent PC at high settings even with increased traffic (up to g_traffic 3) As you add mods it depends very much on which mods. add a bad optimized truck or trailer and you have ruined everything even on Vanilla, obviously for bad maps the result is the same
only test a RTA truck and activate in console minicon 1 and check the TC while driving. normally the TC should be under 1 million with any of the SCS trucks, don't be surprised if the RTA truck has 15-20 millions. you don't see any errors in the gamelog and think that everything is fine, but if you look to TC, that's like a mirror which tells the truth about the mod you are using and a good indicator for keeping or dropping a mod. I run my ETS2 with 160 mods and ATS with 130 mods optimized mods and really I cannot complain of anything except the few ATS cities where I have no explanations for the FPS drop
Enjoy driving with my Real Traffic Density for ETS2 and ATS
Enjoy listening my Real Ai Traffic FMOD Sounds for ETS2 and ATS
I have quit SCS forum...

User avatar
Oldspice
Posts: 23
Joined: 09 Nov 2019 03:50
Location: Australia

Re: Why is ATS/ETS2 so badly optimized.

#17 Post by Oldspice » 18 Sep 2020 23:43

cip wrote:
18 Sep 2020 08:51
another thing to consider, both ATS and ETS2 will run perfectly with no mods in any decent PC at high settings even with increased traffic
The only mods i run are sounds mods, and it runs not so perfectly as discused earlier so I cant agree there cip.
Thanks anyhow.
B-Double Truck Driver Australia 30+ years

User avatar
cip
Posts: 5962
Joined: 26 Aug 2016 08:14
Location: Brussels

Re: Why is ATS/ETS2 so badly optimized.

#18 Post by cip » 18 Sep 2020 23:56

then it's a problem on hardware, drivers, vsync because my game runs well but I had such issues in the past so I know it's possible
Enjoy driving with my Real Traffic Density for ETS2 and ATS
Enjoy listening my Real Ai Traffic FMOD Sounds for ETS2 and ATS
I have quit SCS forum...

User avatar
Rockatansky6
Posts: 122
Joined: 29 Oct 2018 22:41
Location: Rio Grande do Sul - Brazil
Contact:

Re: Why is ATS/ETS2 so badly optimized.

#19 Post by Rockatansky6 » 19 Sep 2020 00:44

I use an i7 1770 3.40 / 3.90 with 8gb of memory and a GTX 1060 with 3gb - playing in the ultra, with only the mirrors in the middle, 200 of dimensioning. I have very little lag, I can play very well. I plan on changing the configuration in 2021. But for now, I have not had many problems. Only in Boise, there is a lag, and when it rains a lot.
Yes, I know my setup is not that strong, but I can still have fun for hours.

Grizzly
Posts: 516
Joined: 13 Feb 2018 08:19
Location: Land of Oz

Re: Why is ATS/ETS2 so badly optimized.

#20 Post by Grizzly » 19 Sep 2020 02:18

It makes a huge different how many pixels you're pushing, if you have a 1080p monitor a top end video card is wasted but I find a 1080ti will run 3440x1440 at about 100 fps at 200% and everything else maxed. Also I recently upgraded from an i7-920 (overclocked to 4GHz) to i7-9700K (same video card and monitor) and that also made a big difference but the i7-920 still ran it pretty well but with more jitter and down around 60fps.

Post Reply

Return to “General discussion about the game”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: arifrahman42, flight50, Mic_2, NonanteNeuf and 7 guests