Page 1 of 7

Why is ATS/ETS2 so badly optimized.

Posted: 16 Sep 2020 05:03
by Oldspice
Im over it man, the bad optimization has been lag spiking my fps forever and the shimmering has been killing my eyes for years. I finally got some relief with my 1.36 settings like nothing fantastic but playable with still shimmering lines and small lag spikes but since 1.37,1.38 its gone back to absolute garbage. Seriously SCS pull your fingers out and fix this rubbish. ITS Just not up to 2020 standards. All my car racing games run fantastic !. I guess because they are properly optimized releases.

Just not good enough even on a b550mb, ryzen 5 3600, rx5500xt, nvme 500gb, 16gb 3000mhz memory etc.

Hopefully SCS will read this also.

Re: Why is ATS/ETS2 so badly optimized.

Posted: 16 Sep 2020 08:28
by Freeze338
Your GPU is not that good enough to operate the game with high settings especially with SSAO. So the problem source isn't SCS in that situation.

Re: Why is ATS/ETS2 so badly optimized.

Posted: 16 Sep 2020 08:56
by Grizzly
Hopefully they'll do something about aliasing in 1.39.

Re: Why is ATS/ETS2 so badly optimized.

Posted: 16 Sep 2020 09:00
by dervu
This way of setting up antialiasing works: https://roextended.ro/forum/viewtopic.php?f=19&t=1000
Shimmering lines disappear, only some far away lights shimmer. Overall it is almost perfect.

Re: Why is ATS/ETS2 so badly optimized.

Posted: 16 Sep 2020 09:07
by jdwarfer
Things shouldn't be so complicated ^^
I just use 200% resolution with highest AA settings and it's fine. But yes the AA thingy itself alone sucks.

And optimisation seems fine to me. You can't trust the old requirements anymore, because the game has been updated so much since then.
Also it depends if you're using mods or not.

Re: Why is ATS/ETS2 so badly optimized.

Posted: 16 Sep 2020 11:02
by Reinhard
dervu wrote:
16 Sep 2020 09:00
This way of setting up antialiasing works: https://roextended.ro/forum/viewtopic.php?f=19&t=1000
This is for Nvidia only. He got an AMD card.

Re: Why is ATS/ETS2 so badly optimized.

Posted: 16 Sep 2020 20:22
by Some newbie driver
Freeze338 wrote:
16 Sep 2020 08:28
Your GPU is not that good enough to operate the game with high settings especially with SSAO. So the problem source isn't SCS in that situation.
He has graphic card more than enough to run all of that except if he would do it at 4k and/or high scaling combined.

Game architecture is old, game is almost mono-core on it's CPU execution, it can't take profit of al the power of modern hardware, plain and simple. That's what happens when a small-to-mid company slowly evolves for free a game for more than 10 years; instead of making us pay the development of a new rebuild to last technologies every 2 or 3.

Those who want to enjoy the last (and not so last) fancy graphical features and squeeze their modern rigs should look in other games for quite time still.

Regards

Re: Why is ATS/ETS2 so badly optimized.

Posted: 17 Sep 2020 12:55
by Knightrider
I agree that his card is quite competent for the game.

I cranked it up everything to max except mirrors (medium detail and low range) at 200% scaling, 1080p . My card is not as good as his (rx 570) and I can get 60 fps steady that way. From my experience, SSAO don't even nearly impact my performance as much as mirrors, imo its just not worth it to put mirrors maxed unless you have a high end GPU.

Re: Why is ATS/ETS2 so badly optimized.

Posted: 17 Sep 2020 13:50
by cip
the only bad optimization I feel is in some cities in ATS much smaller than San Francisco or Las Vegas, two cities where FPS is not suffering any drops. I have now an I7 9600k but even my older I7 4770 was doing a good job with the same GTX 1060 GPU always with 400% scaling, SSAO at maximum and high (not maximum) graphic settings. the key for a smooth gameplay for me is in the RAM, if you use some traffic packs and increased density you really need enough RAM, and also to increase the mm_pool_size because if you don't do it, the allocated RAM by the game (which is quite little by default) will be saturated and the surplus needed will store in the virtual memory and that's the source of all lag/stuttering/FPS drop issues.
the 400% scaling is not much more demanding than 200% but 400% will remove 90% of the shimmering. if you use also a graphic mod, the experience is already close to perfection !

Re: Why is ATS/ETS2 so badly optimized.

Posted: 17 Sep 2020 13:55
by jarryed
I don't feel that the game is not optimized.

Now the graphics are another thing. SMAA is absolutely horrible. There is shimmering and jagged edges all over the place, even on vegetation for me. I WILL NOT upscale using DSR to fix an issue that SCS should correct. Absolutely pointless to do that in my opinion.

SCS can fix this quite easily actually too. GIVE US TAA!!!

Without TAA; the upcoming HDR lighting update that was mentioned in the Explaining SSAO blog I feel the game is only going to look worse than it already is.

We should not have to go out and buy 4k monitors, use DSR scaling to make the game look good, nor should we have to use the Nvidia Profile Inspector tweaks at roextended.