Arduino Guage Cluster/Dashboard(+ source) for ATS

User avatar
teknogeek1300
Posts: 19
Joined: 03 Feb 2016 05:01

Arduino Guage Cluster/Dashboard(+ source) for ATS

#1 Post by teknogeek1300 » 20 Feb 2016 03:38

Working for ETS2, and ATS(x86, and x64 for multiplayer support)

First off I'd like to thank Silas Parker for this awesome code! He is the original writer that made all this happen. He can be reached/fallowed @ http://skyhisi.blogspot.co.uk/

Second, d3m0nicp3nguin, for compiling this in 64bit for ATS!

I myself, teknogeek1300 have enabled fuel guage support, and segment LED output for d3m0nicp3nguin gear output support. I've also included a schematic of the wireing I used to set up my cluster(ats_cluster\wireing diagram.png).

Here is it in action:
v2 update:
Required hardware:

Arduino MEGA(ATMEGA chipset), $10-15 on ebay.
1-3 servo's for the tach, speedometer, and fuel gauge. Can be found at most RC hobby stores(roughly $10/each).
Solderless breadboard($5-10)
Jumper wires($5-10)

My gauge cluster was relatively difficult for a novice, so using basic LED's and some creativity with paper/paint is the easiest alternative for a gauge cluster.

Here is how I wired mine up:
http://www.gamefront.com/members/teknog ... am-v5-mega

Download available here: http://ssmapper.com/ats/ats_dashboard-master_v6.zip
Alternative download: https://mega.nz/#!7cIyRDDJ!7Z7ItjusANVt ... HTrHyKvc0Y

Please message/email me if the file goes down.
Last edited by teknogeek1300 on 12 Nov 2016 02:41, edited 12 times in total.

SchorschiBW
Posts: 93
Joined: 11 Mar 2013 13:54
Contact:

Re: Arduino Guage Cluster/Dashboard(+ source) for ATS

#2 Post by SchorschiBW » 21 Feb 2016 00:20

Loks Grey. how did you do it with the turn signal ?

User avatar
teknogeek1300
Posts: 19
Joined: 03 Feb 2016 05:01

Re: Arduino Guage Cluster/Dashboard(+ source) for ATS

#3 Post by teknogeek1300 » 21 Feb 2016 10:46

The left signal arm is wired to a joystick, not related to the Arduino.



Update soon(hopefully tomorrow):

-Added gear output to the plugin, and Arduino code.
-Enabled fuel gauge for 3rd servo.

User avatar
teknogeek1300
Posts: 19
Joined: 03 Feb 2016 05:01

Re: Arduino Guage Cluster/Dashboard(+ source) for ATS

#4 Post by teknogeek1300 » 22 Feb 2016 03:42

UPDATE: v2

Fuel gauge added to pin A5(in dash_plugin.txt calibration is reversed, smaller value increases gauge range)
Fuel warning light moved to 12
Shift light moved to 11
Segment LED is wired upside down(dp in the top left) now using pins 2-9

http://www.gamefront.com/files/25495781 ... ter_v2.rar

User avatar
teknogeek1300
Posts: 19
Joined: 03 Feb 2016 05:01

Re: Arduino Guage Cluster/Dashboard(+ source) for ATS

#5 Post by teknogeek1300 » 01 Mar 2016 04:26

UPDATE v4:

Switched to Arduino MEGA Atmel 2560 based board(much more pinouts than previous arduino uno setup)
Switched top power row to 5v(lower is now 3.3v)
Removed shift light, replaced with cruis control light.
Set cluster backlights to operate based on ingame low beams.
Added inline backlight dimmer(1k potentiometer)
Added highbeam light
Added cruise control light
Added range splitter LED's to signify gear range(1,2,3(green, yellow, red LED's)). Eg: 1st gear = green, 2nd = yellow, 3rd = red, 4th = green, cont...

Demo:
Download: http://www.gamefront.com/files/25511821 ... ter_v4.zip

User avatar
natvander
Posts: 1280
Joined: 01 Feb 2015 01:42
Location: NSW, Australia

Re: Arduino Guage Cluster/Dashboard(+ source) for ATS

#6 Post by natvander » 01 Mar 2016 11:59

Am I right in saying that Arduino is for output (i.e. gets signal from game and sends to devices like servos etc) as opposed to input (i.e. gets signal from device like switch and sends to game)?
Image
Never argue with idiots. They bring you down to their
level and beat you with experience.

User avatar
teknogeek1300
Posts: 19
Joined: 03 Feb 2016 05:01

Re: Arduino Guage Cluster/Dashboard(+ source) for ATS

#7 Post by teknogeek1300 » 01 Mar 2016 16:21

It does have the capability to emulate a game device that can be recognized as an input device, but I haven't investigated whether or not you can use 1 device for input and output(yet). I do plan on figuring this out in the near future.
Last edited by Centrino2 on 04 Mar 2016 23:15, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: No need to quote the post above yours [Rule 2.4]

douglaspaes123
Posts: 11
Joined: 08 Mar 2016 01:56

Re: Arduino Guage Cluster/Dashboard(+ source) for ATS

#8 Post by douglaspaes123 » 08 Mar 2016 02:01

Can anyone help me? I'm not able to work, put the dash_plugin.dll files in the plugins folder plus the Arduino does not recognize. I'm having the ATS and not operate at all, the Arduino simply does not synchronize. my computer is 64bit. Thank you.

User avatar
teknogeek1300
Posts: 19
Joined: 03 Feb 2016 05:01

Re: Arduino Guage Cluster/Dashboard(+ source) for ATS

#9 Post by teknogeek1300 » 08 Mar 2016 02:34

UPDATE:

v5:
Now contains x86 and x64 compiled plugins, for both Euro Truck Sim 2, and American Truck Sim.(both games use either one depending on your flavor)

http://www.gamefront.com/files/25524786 ... ter_v5.zip
https://mega.nz/#!yxlVhYqQ!IU0kXocDJ2M3 ... bngm9YmY0k

douglaspaes123
Posts: 11
Joined: 08 Mar 2016 01:56

Re: Arduino Guage Cluster/Dashboard(+ source) for ATS

#10 Post by douglaspaes123 » 08 Mar 2016 11:33

ATS does not work for me, either in single player and not in multiplayer.
make a tutorial teaching step by step.
Thank you.
Last edited by scanialoverr on 08 Mar 2016 13:59, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Do not quote message above yours. [2.4]

Post Reply

Return to “Technical Problems”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest