Help with updating C2C file without starting new profile

Forum rules
SCS as a company do not wish to have paid mods on this forum. While we understand that not all paid mods use the Intellectual Property of other companies/people, it is very hard to moderate what is and isn't acceptable when money is involved. There are also concerns that it could look unfavorable to potential work partners going forward if SCS allow mods that may potentially use unlicensed branding.
Posting in the Mods forum (ATS and ETS2) is restricted to sharing free-to-the-public mods and providing support for mods. For more details, please check chapters [4] and [5] of Forum Rules.
Post Reply
AmandaCDover
Posts: 19
Joined: 28 Aug 2019 19:25

Help with updating C2C file without starting new profile

#1 Post by AmandaCDover » 27 Nov 2020 18:46

Is there any way at all I can update C2C without having to make a new profile everytime? I hate to lose progress.

User avatar
bobgrey1997
Posts: 3751
Joined: 30 Nov 2015 02:13
Location: Conway, Arkansas
Contact:

Re: Help with updating C2C file without starting new profile

#2 Post by bobgrey1997 » 27 Nov 2020 18:57

You shouldn't ever have to make a new profile.
C2C, as well as any base-map addon and DLC, will never require a new profile. The only time you have to make a new profile is if you are using a map mod which is standalone, using a new module name. You may notice every time you make a new profile, there is "module" in the bottom of the profile creation screen which should read "usa". The only time a map mod requires a new profile is if it require you to select anything other than "usa" in this section.
ImageImage

AmandaCDover
Posts: 19
Joined: 28 Aug 2019 19:25

Re: Help with updating C2C file without starting new profile

#3 Post by AmandaCDover » 30 Nov 2020 22:42

Anytime I update the C2C file I have to make a new profile everytime. Cause it detects mod changes. How can I replace it? Do I just add the file in addition or rename?

User avatar
bobgrey1997
Posts: 3751
Joined: 30 Nov 2015 02:13
Location: Conway, Arkansas
Contact:

Re: Help with updating C2C file without starting new profile

#4 Post by bobgrey1997 » 01 Dec 2020 02:00

The only thing the "change" does is put your truck at your assigned garage.
ImageImage

AmandaCDover
Posts: 19
Joined: 28 Aug 2019 19:25

Re: Help with updating C2C file without starting new profile

#5 Post by AmandaCDover » 02 Dec 2020 07:05

It gives me a warning message that I changed mods and I have to create a new profile.

AmandaCDover
Posts: 19
Joined: 28 Aug 2019 19:25

Re: Help with updating C2C file without starting new profile

#6 Post by AmandaCDover » 02 Dec 2020 07:23

The problem could be is I delete the old C2C file then add the new file. When I probably need to just add the new file without deleting the other one and just use the mod manager to enable the new one and disable the old one.

AmandaCDover
Posts: 19
Joined: 28 Aug 2019 19:25

Re: Help with updating C2C file without starting new profile

#7 Post by AmandaCDover » 02 Dec 2020 20:34

I had a ton of mods like the resources mods and Canadream and Mexico mods and they arent compatible with the new version so I still may have to make a new profile thats modded.

User avatar
bobgrey1997
Posts: 3751
Joined: 30 Nov 2015 02:13
Location: Conway, Arkansas
Contact:

Re: Help with updating C2C file without starting new profile

#8 Post by bobgrey1997 » 02 Dec 2020 21:13

You always delete the old file. If you leave the old file in, you will have conflicting sectors, and whichever file is higher priority will show its sectors.
Just ignore the warning and load the profile as normal. All it should do is put you at your assigned garage.
ImageImage

AmandaCDover
Posts: 19
Joined: 28 Aug 2019 19:25

Re: Help with updating C2C file without starting new profile

#9 Post by AmandaCDover » 03 Dec 2020 03:08

I will try. When I tried to load it today there was no autosaves and said my mods wasnt compatible with the new update. I had to remove C2C,CanaDream and Viva Mexico

User avatar
bobgrey1997
Posts: 3751
Joined: 30 Nov 2015 02:13
Location: Conway, Arkansas
Contact:

Re: Help with updating C2C file without starting new profile

#10 Post by bobgrey1997 » 03 Dec 2020 05:50

Never take these errors at face value, on any game. There is no way for the game to know precisely what will and will not the crash the game, so it throws these errors at anything that has a chance of crashing it. More often then not, it can be safely ignored.
ImageImage

Post Reply

Return to “Mods”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest