ATS mapping manual

Forum rules
SCS as a company do not wish to have paid mods on this forum. While we understand that not all paid mods use the Intellectual Property of other companies/people, it is very hard to moderate what is and isn't acceptable when money is involved. There are also concerns that it could look unfavorable to potential work partners going forward if SCS allow mods that may potentially use unlicensed branding.
Posting in the Mods forum (ATS and ETS2) is restricted to sharing free-to-the-public mods and providing support for mods. For more details, please check chapters [4] and [5] of Forum Rules.
User avatar
Blackspots
Posts: 7694
Joined: 13 Apr 2016 21:57
Location: Wichita Falls, TX
Contact:

Re: ATS mapping manual

#21 Post by Blackspots » 09 Dec 2017 17:13

Yeah, I don't do map rebuilds, and I identify the sectors I worked on by scrolling around the map remembering where I worked and select them in the folder.
Author: C2C Eastern New Mexico, Texas, Oklahoma and Kansas improvments
ETS2 Map Combo: PM, Scandinavian Addon, RusMap, SR, The Great Steppe, PJ Indo Map
ATS Map Combo: Coast to Coast, CanaDream, Tonopah Reworked, US Expansion, Viva Mexico

veso266
Posts: 31
Joined: 02 Jun 2015 08:17

Re: ATS mapping manual

#22 Post by veso266 » 09 Dec 2017 18:05

or just map edit like normal save the map modify 1 sector you don't care about and then grab modified sectors from .bak folder

BTW: how do you unlink a linked object (road to road or road to prefab)

User avatar
Reinhard
Posts: 5210
Joined: 20 Dec 2012 16:46
Location: Nimby, District of Berlin

Re: ATS mapping manual

#23 Post by Reinhard » 09 Dec 2017 18:25

You select "move", then while pressing the "Shift" key move the node with the left mouse button active. "ALT" key for connecting.

The .bak folder usually don't even have the latest sectors.

EDIT: changed "CTRL" to "Shift".
Last edited by Reinhard on 10 Dec 2017 08:38, edited 1 time in total.

veso266
Posts: 31
Joined: 02 Jun 2015 08:17

Re: ATS mapping manual

#24 Post by veso266 » 09 Dec 2017 18:48

@Reinhard Thanks I figured that out (not sure why the numbeer after . increases (first it was 0 then sector with same name.1 and .2 and so on (not sure which is the latest?)

I will use the last modified aproach cause it works well

ALT for linking
SHIFT for unlinking (CTRL didn't work but SHIFT did)
I got it Thanks

User avatar
Blackspots
Posts: 7694
Joined: 13 Apr 2016 21:57
Location: Wichita Falls, TX
Contact:

Re: ATS mapping manual

#25 Post by Blackspots » 10 Dec 2017 02:05

@veso266 yeah, you don't grab out of the /map/usa.bak/ you get the saved sectors out of /map/usa/. The usa.bak has older sectors and not your updates.
Author: C2C Eastern New Mexico, Texas, Oklahoma and Kansas improvments
ETS2 Map Combo: PM, Scandinavian Addon, RusMap, SR, The Great Steppe, PJ Indo Map
ATS Map Combo: Coast to Coast, CanaDream, Tonopah Reworked, US Expansion, Viva Mexico

User avatar
Reinhard
Posts: 5210
Joined: 20 Dec 2012 16:46
Location: Nimby, District of Berlin

Re: ATS mapping manual

#26 Post by Reinhard » 10 Dec 2017 08:37

veso266 wrote:
09 Dec 2017 18:48
ALT for linking SHIFT for unlinking (CTRL didn't work but SHIFT did)
Of course. I edit my previous post, for not to fool other people finding it on a search.

Younas
Posts: 7
Joined: 14 Aug 2018 19:32

Re: ATS mapping manual

#27 Post by Younas » 16 Aug 2018 19:08

Hi Reinhard,
I did all the stuff as directed in the manual, but when I ran the console command the following errors showed through a dialogue box ( see attachments). I tried to add a new item (road) but it couldn't be placed. Please guide me
Last edited by Flemming V on 17 Aug 2018 05:11, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Attachment removed. Please host files on an external server.

Younas
Posts: 7
Joined: 14 Aug 2018 19:32

Re: ATS mapping manual

#28 Post by Younas » 17 Aug 2018 05:43

When I type edit in the console box the following errors occur and I couldn't proceed further;
[di8] Can not set cooperative level for device 'keyboard' (error)
[di8] Can not set cooperative level for device 'mouse' (error)

User avatar
madoyaghi
Posts: 23
Joined: 13 Feb 2016 22:37

Re: ATS mapping manual

#29 Post by madoyaghi » 24 Oct 2018 17:10

hey man idk why it keeps crashing for me when i try to open editor
Image

User avatar
Reinhard
Posts: 5210
Joined: 20 Dec 2012 16:46
Location: Nimby, District of Berlin

Re: ATS mapping manual

#30 Post by Reinhard » 24 Oct 2018 17:21

Seeking for help without providing a game log is not very promising. Use a file hoster, like pastebin. Yes, the full log, not just snippets.

Younas, these errors you can safely ignore, I never had a log without. I suppose this the moment when the working editor window appears, and the starting window closes.

Post Reply

Return to “Modding Guides”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests