Air Brake Simulation Errors [29002]

dsevigny
Posts: 7
Joined: 06 Jun 2016 14:36

Air Brake Simulation Errors [29002]

#1 Post by dsevigny » 17 Aug 2016 23:50

Part of a pre-trip inspection is to verify the correct function and safety of a truck's braking system. Typically when you dump the air from the tanks (pump the brakes) there should be an audible warning above 60psi to accompany the visual warning (on the dash in most cases now). Many trucks will activate as high as 80psi. If you continue to dump the air, the spring brakes should activate between 20 and 45 psi. The buttons on the dash should automatically pop out. They do not do so.

Not a huge issue but it was something that I noticed. Maybe a future feature?

User avatar
Smarty
Beta tester
Posts: 2120
Joined: 30 Jun 2015 01:56
Location: Ontario, Canada
Contact:

Re: Air Brake Simulation Errors

#2 Post by Smarty » 18 Aug 2016 03:23

If you turn on advanced airbrake simulation in the gameplay options, the truck will become immobile and the low air light will come on (if the vehicle interior has it) in the 20-45psi range. If the vehicle is damaged/worn, it will leak down enough while sleeping that you'll have to build up air pressure before you can move.

I'll agree that an audible alarm and having the brake valves pop out would be a nice addition, though I wouldn't consider this a bug so much as a feature suggestion. ;)
Image

User avatar
T6A5
Posts: 617
Joined: 01 Dec 2014 02:28
Location: Canada
Contact:

Re: Air Brake Simulation Errors

#3 Post by T6A5 » 18 Aug 2016 03:35

Speaking of air brakes, I don't actually know how they work in real life, so I apologize if this is a stupid question, but is it normal for them to run out of air while you're sleeping, even if you shift the engine into neutral and apply the parking brake before you turn the engine off? I've had this happen to me several times.

User avatar
Smarty
Beta tester
Posts: 2120
Joined: 30 Jun 2015 01:56
Location: Ontario, Canada
Contact:

Re: Air Brake Simulation Errors

#4 Post by Smarty » 18 Aug 2016 03:49

If there are leaks, yes. Pretty much all air brake regulations allow for a small amount of leakage (system must build pressure within x amount of time, may not lose more than x psi in y minutes, etc). Systems at the worn end of that tolerance can lose a lot of air overnight.

In a nutshell, there's an air compressor which is governed nominally around 100-120psi, driven by the engine that supplies compressed air to the air brake system. The compressed air is stored in tanks. The spring/parking brakes are released/'held-open' by some of this pressure. Aaaand, for the rest, I suggest reading your state/province's air brake manual. Here's Ontario's; It's definitely one of the better ones out there.
Image

User avatar
T6A5
Posts: 617
Joined: 01 Dec 2014 02:28
Location: Canada
Contact:

Re: Air Brake Simulation Errors

#5 Post by T6A5 » 18 Aug 2016 14:50

Makes sense, thanks.

User avatar
Bandit & The Snowman
Posts: 2109
Joined: 23 Oct 2014 15:55
Location: East Bound and Down
Contact:

Re: Air Brake Simulation Errors

#6 Post by Bandit & The Snowman » 18 Aug 2016 15:36

The warning sound will be there in 1.4, it already works in the beta.

User avatar
room217au
Posts: 2830
Joined: 17 Jul 2015 01:55
Location: 'Straya

Re: Air Brake Simulation Errors

#7 Post by room217au » 18 Aug 2016 23:58

Yes but frankly it sounds nothing like the cranky, irritating, annoying BZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZ that it should be.
It's a warning. It's meant to sound like one.
Not an elongated bleep that sounds as if it should be wearing a frilly blouse and heels.
Two wrongs don't make a right, but three lefts.. do.

User avatar
rocknrollDaVE
Beta tester
Posts: 2135
Joined: 23 Dec 2012 01:14
Location: Pittsburgh, PA, USA
Contact:

Re: Air Brake Simulation Errors

#8 Post by rocknrollDaVE » 19 Aug 2016 00:46

it goes "ding ding ding" like you left the door open in real newer Peterbilts and Kenworths. the air warning should sound at 60 PSI and under
I'm on a mission to ensure the city of Pittsburgh is accurately represented in ATS.
◇ Link to World of Trucks profile below ◇

Image

User avatar
room217au
Posts: 2830
Joined: 17 Jul 2015 01:55
Location: 'Straya

Re: Air Brake Simulation Errors

#9 Post by room217au » 19 Aug 2016 03:25

heh Like I said, frilly blouse and heels.
Two wrongs don't make a right, but three lefts.. do.

User avatar
rocknrollDaVE
Beta tester
Posts: 2135
Joined: 23 Dec 2012 01:14
Location: Pittsburgh, PA, USA
Contact:

Re: Air Brake Simulation Errors

#10 Post by rocknrollDaVE » 19 Aug 2016 05:38

Freightliner has the BBBBEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE!!!!!!!!! its ear piersing
I'm on a mission to ensure the city of Pittsburgh is accurately represented in ATS.
◇ Link to World of Trucks profile below ◇

Image

Post Reply

Return to “Bugs 1.3”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest