Ferries disabling top-down camera

GamePro1337
Posts: 44
Joined: 02 Dec 2016 11:41

Ferries disabling top-down camera

#1 Post by GamePro1337 » 19 Dec 2016 11:53

On occasion, after taking a ferry route that starts with a ferry you actually have to drive into, the top-down camera ("3" key by default) disables itself, requiring me to actually exit the game and restart to fix the problem. This is problematic for me because I rely on the top-down camera whenever I'm backing trailers in to be unloaded.

Here's an example of such a ferry:
Image

Game version: 1.26.2.2 (64-bit, Steam version)
Sometimes reproducible
Coordinates (this is just one of many examples; the bug isn't limited to this route):

Code: Select all

Self-Disabling Top-Down Camera ; [19/12/2016  03:23] (sec-0016-0002);-60545.2;53.5305;-7392.87;-0.0481773;-0.089263
The bug most recently occurred for me at the above coordinates (in Plymouth, after taking the ferry from Roscoff); as mentioned, other routes with drive-in ferries as shown above also have this issue

User avatar
EvgenKo423
Posts: 579
Joined: 04 Nov 2015 07:36
Location: Russia
Contact:

Re: Ferries disabling top-down camera

#2 Post by EvgenKo423 » 19 Dec 2016 17:07

Well, that's logical. You can't look at your truck from the top because it's under roof. Otherwise the camera will clip through it and you will see just a bunch of girders (or it will not clip and you will see just the roof). :)

User avatar
BK Vissers
Global moderator
Posts: 14515
Joined: 05 Nov 2016 16:02
Location: Canada
Contact:

Re: Ferries disabling top-down camera

#3 Post by BK Vissers » 19 Dec 2016 22:05

In many tunnels, under low bridges and when inside the ferry, it's quite common that Camera 3 will not work, for the reason EvgenKo423 mentioned.

What isn't clear from your bug report is whether Camera 3 won't work once you leave the ferry and are under "open sky" once more.

If it doesn't work once you are on land, then that isn't supposed to happen.
Image

GamePro1337
Posts: 44
Joined: 02 Dec 2016 11:41

Re: Ferries disabling top-down camera

#4 Post by GamePro1337 » 20 Dec 2016 04:13

It doesn't work under open sky, so it's completely broken after the journey. The only way to fix it is to exit the game and relaunch it, as far as I can see.

User avatar
Reinhard
Posts: 5033
Joined: 20 Dec 2012 16:46
Location: Nimby, District of Berlin

Re: Ferries disabling top-down camera

#5 Post by Reinhard » 20 Dec 2016 06:02

GamePro1337 wrote:whenever I'm backing trailers in to be unloaded.
Has something changed in the gameplay? Is the game now expecting us backing trailers into ferries? Did I miss an announcement? Yet or recently?

User avatar
Blackspots
Posts: 7613
Joined: 13 Apr 2016 21:57
Location: Wichita Falls, TX
Contact:

Re: Ferries disabling top-down camera

#6 Post by Blackspots » 20 Dec 2016 06:32

@Reinhard: Why would you back in a trailer and unload it in a ferry?
Author: C2C Eastern New Mexico, Texas, Oklahoma and Kansas improvments
ETS2 Map Combo: PM, Scandinavian Addon, RusMap, SR, The Great Steppe, PJ Indo Map
ATS Map Combo: Coast to Coast, CanaDream, Tonopah Reworked, US Expansion, Viva Mexico

User avatar
Reinhard
Posts: 5033
Joined: 20 Dec 2012 16:46
Location: Nimby, District of Berlin

Re: Ferries disabling top-down camera

#7 Post by Reinhard » 20 Dec 2016 07:07

Image

Trailers are hauled and dropped into ferries all the time. Saves space and time on a long route. But I assume that this is usually done by trained personell with special tractors, designed for the job. No idea if anywhere in Europe incoming trucks are supposed to do the job.

But that's not my point. I asked if the gameplay support such doings.

If not, and it is just about dropping the trailer without activating the ferry, I wouldn't call it a bug. Otherwise, if the cam is used and not working after ferrying is done, I would.

User avatar
Mohegan13
Global moderator
Posts: 19435
Joined: 05 Jul 2013 09:44
Location: West Yorkshire; Mars
Contact:

Re: Ferries disabling top-down camera

#8 Post by Mohegan13 » 20 Dec 2016 09:23

Intended behaviour. Not a bug.
Image
I reserve the right to be 100% wrong.
But on my tombstone when I go, just put 'death by rock and roll'.

IonutL
Posts: 3146
Joined: 13 Apr 2014 20:16

Re: Ferries disabling top-down camera

#9 Post by IonutL » 20 Dec 2016 09:57

There is a similar issue reported in the ATS Tech problems: viewtopic.php?f=181&t=220925&start=10

mira666
Posts: 162
Joined: 11 Dec 2016 12:39
Location: Cambridgeshire, UK

Re: Ferries disabling top-down camera

#10 Post by mira666 » 20 Dec 2016 10:49

I think what the OP means, is that after a ferry journey, when he goes to make his drop off at the recipient company, pressing '3' no longer operates the top down camera.
ETS2 and ATS Vanilla Gamer 2012-Now

Post Reply

Return to “Bugs 1.26”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest