Issues with new lowbed and lowloader trailers [130447]

Spieker

Issues with new lowbed and lowloader trailers [130447]

#1 Post by Spieker » 18 Oct 2020 22:46

First of all, I really appreciate finally being able to own those kind of trailers, this is actually something me and many other people have been waiting for for a long time. However, being a truck driver myself IRL I've noticed some "legal issues" with the trailer cargoes.

1. Divisible loads
Transport exceeding the usual dimensions of 16.5m (+1.5m overhang) in length, 4m in height, 2.55m in width and 40t of weight obviously needs special permit. These permits are only granted for indivisible loads which means permits wouldn't be granted if the cargo could be transported using normal trailers.

Therefore, the following loads are illegal:
lowbed trailer:
- 2 Loaders
- 2 Semi lowbed trailers
- 2 Tractors + Plough
- 3 Air conditioners
[ external image ]

low loader trailer:
- 2 Tractors
- 2 Air conditioners
[ external image ]

2. Unnecessarily extended trailers
Most cargoes on extended chassis could be transported on a non-extended chassis just as well and no authority in the world would give a permit for that kind of overlength.
I'm going to show just 2 example images since this unfortunately applies to most cargoes on extended chassis:
[ external image ]
Some newbie driver

Re: Issues with new lowbed and lowloader trailers

#2 Post by Some newbie driver » 18 Oct 2020 23:18