Hi-End Configuration Optimization

Don_Lisper
Posts: 5
Joined: 30 Aug 2020 19:03

Re: Hi-End Configuration Optimization

#621 Post by Don_Lisper » 03 Sep 2020 16:31

myrddin wrote:
05 Jul 2020 21:52
That's true, thanks for the heads up. I look into it. If I read a couple of posts up the page, I just have to add the -homedir "full_path" in the launch options box thru the properties in Steam.

Cheers !

Luc
I think i have the same issue:
I have an SSD with enough space, so i changed the ETS2 steam files to this path (D:)----> ok!
Then i moved all the users files (profile, mods and others) to D: path (the entire mydocuments/ets2 directory)
I applied changes to the launch parameters using the -homedir code (where the users files are, same path but different directory with the steam files)
And when i run the profile in the game, there is no mods on the list

How do you fix that problem??

domi 41
Posts: 117
Joined: 27 Aug 2014 09:25
Location: Greece

Re: Hi-End Configuration Optimization

#622 Post by domi 41 » 03 Sep 2020 18:08

thanks cip!!

User avatar
Scaniadriver1
Posts: 4191
Joined: 25 Jan 2014 12:40
Location: austria

Re: Hi-End Configuration Optimization

#623 Post by Scaniadriver1 » 04 Sep 2020 07:10

@Braakie thanks man. Now it is fun to ride on 1.38 in Ets2.These little things - when you know it, can make a big difference. Far away now from higher temperature with rtx 2070/i7 9750
Image

User avatar
supersobes
Global moderator
Posts: 10711
Joined: 07 Dec 2016 21:53
Location: Northern Virginia, USA
Contact:

Re: Hi-End Configuration Optimization

#624 Post by supersobes » 21 Sep 2020 18:00

I recently made some changes to my system including upgrading the RAM and adding an SSD dedicated to installing games onto. I want to make sure that I have things setup to utilize this new hardware effectively in way that will benefit the performance of the game. I'm curious; is there is a way to mathematically calculate the best values for these parameters to ensure that the optimizations made are the best for the hardware that're being run on, or is it simply trial and error?

I have the following parameters currently in use, but I have no idea if this is the best way to use it. According to my game.log.txt, this setup gives me 33 loading buffers.

Code: Select all

-mm_pool_size 8000 -mm_max_resource_size 30 -mm_max_tmp_buffers_size 1000 -homedir "F:\SCS Software\\"

User avatar
genbrien
Posts: 387
Joined: 04 Apr 2013 04:21
Location: Quebec, Canada

Re: Hi-End Configuration Optimization

#625 Post by genbrien » 21 Sep 2020 18:29

so far, with my new laptop that I got last month(16gb ram + rtx2070 8gb) I run this:

-mm_pool_size 12288 -mm_max_resource_size 50 -mm_max_tmp_buffers_size 1000 -nointro

I have Ruda's truck + all jazzycat mods and a bunch of others, all settings maxed out @1080p with 400% scalling with constant 60fps(some drop in the 50s in biggest/newest cities).

Noticed that peak ram used is about 11gb ( tried to allocate 14gb but it didnt make a difference)

User avatar
BenganJ
Posts: 2438
Joined: 10 Oct 2015 17:49
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden

Re: Hi-End Configuration Optimization

#626 Post by BenganJ » 21 Sep 2020 18:36

@genbrien

For internal memory of 16GB max value for -mm_pool_size is 8GB, i.e. 8192, so 12288 is useless. It will be truncated! The rule is that max value is HALF internal memory!
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
System: Windows 8.1
Processor: Intel Core i7-4790@3.60GHz
Memory: 16GB
Graphics: ASUS GeForce GTX1660Ti
Image

User avatar
genbrien
Posts: 387
Joined: 04 Apr 2013 04:21
Location: Quebec, Canada

Re: Hi-End Configuration Optimization

#627 Post by genbrien » 21 Sep 2020 18:38

I tried with 8192 and noticed that more ram was used when the game was given more than 8gb
Dont know what to say, but those numbers are working well for me

User avatar
BenganJ
Posts: 2438
Joined: 10 Oct 2015 17:49
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden

Re: Hi-End Configuration Optimization

#628 Post by BenganJ » 21 Sep 2020 18:41

@@genbrien

The rule comes from Max at SCS, so it's not anything I have found out!
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
System: Windows 8.1
Processor: Intel Core i7-4790@3.60GHz
Memory: 16GB
Graphics: ASUS GeForce GTX1660Ti
Image

User avatar
xXCARL1992Xx
Posts: 11681
Joined: 17 Aug 2016 12:18
Contact:

Re: Hi-End Configuration Optimization

#629 Post by xXCARL1992Xx » 21 Sep 2020 18:48

Max said this parameter is obsolet and doesnt affect anything because the game allocates memory if needed, but it wont exceed half the available memory, i dont have this parameter and the game automatically allocates half my RAM (8192mb)
Image
| !!!NO SUPPORT OR REQUESTS OF ANY SORT VIA PM!!! | Screenshot Thread | Steam Workshop | World of Trucks Profil |

User avatar
jyry
Posts: 209
Joined: 09 Aug 2018 13:25
Location: Brünn-Königsfeld

Re: Hi-End Configuration Optimization

#630 Post by jyry » 21 Sep 2020 18:55

I have the same experience as @xXCARL1992Xx , i have 32GB and I tried different values of the parameter, but my system still works with the memory the same and the settings do not respect (win10 v.2004)
Image

Post Reply

Return to “General discussion about the game”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests