Page 64 of 95

Re: Hi-End Configuration Optimization

Posted: 21 Sep 2020 19:08
by supersobes
I have 64GB of memory, and I just experimented with the "-mm_pool_size". I found that with no parameter at all, the game only allocates 8GB. If I add "-mm_pool_size 32000," then it will actually allocate 32GB. The game.log.txt says "Trying to allocate memory pool (32768000K)" rather than "Trying to allocate memory pool (8192000K)." Weather or not the game actually needs that much memory is another story though.

Re: Hi-End Configuration Optimization

Posted: 21 Sep 2020 20:04
by BeeAntOS
The most ideal settings are those that don't leave any useless memory fragment behind...

An example for systems with 16GB (16,384MB) of RAM:
  • (16,384 ÷ 2) = {8,192 mm_pool_size}
    ({8,192 mm_pool_size} ÷ {1,000 mm_max_tmp_buffers_size}) = 8.192
    not so good! let's try again...
  • (16,000 ÷ 2) = {8,000 mm_pool_size}
    ({8,000 mm_pool_size} ÷ {1,000 mm_max_tmp_buffers_size}) = 8
    that's it!
  • we need at least {30 mm_max_resource_size} for our performance expectations, so;
    ({1,000 mm_max_tmp_buffers_size} ÷ {30 mm_max_resource_size}) = 33.33∞
    that's not good either, keep trying...
  • ({1,000 mm_max_tmp_buffers_size} / {40 mm_max_resource_size}) = 25
    voilà!

Command line with result:

Code: Select all

-mm_pool_size 8000 -mm_max_resource_size 40 -mm_max_tmp_buffers_size 1000

Re: Hi-End Configuration Optimization

Posted: 21 Sep 2020 21:09
by cip
xXCARL1992Xx wrote: 21 Sep 2020 18:48 Max said this parameter is obsolet and doesnt affect anything because the game allocates memory if needed, but it wont exceed half the available memory, i dont have this parameter and the game automatically allocates half my RAM (8192mb)
this was 3 years ago :lol: meantime this parameter is MANDATORY when playing with a lot of traffic packs and your game needs more than half of your available RAM, otherwise without adequate mm_pool_size the game will inevitably crash. for normal use with default traffic and no packs or few packs only, yes this is not needed, but traffic is tricky, the game stores it all in RAM gradually as the game will spawn the Ai models. a traffic density mod will hurry up this process and crash will come faster if the game runs out of memory. all these are mentioned in my traffic density mod topic and people using them with my traffic mod have really no issues.
I have struggled a lot with 16 Gb RAM, always had to remove some packs, but now I have 32 Gb RAM and with my traffic composed by both increased density and many traffic packs inclusively additional extravagant trailers (doubles, bdoubles, bdfs, heavy cargo), my total RAM usage reaches sometimes 23 Gb from which Windows 10 and other background processes take maybe 5-6 Gb, everything else is traffic :D
but with 32 Gb of RAM, at normal traffic and even with moderate packs, any mm_pool_size or no pool_size at all will have the same impact.
supersobes wrote: 21 Sep 2020 19:08 Weather or not the game actually needs that much memory is another story though
2 years of testing and playing on Dx11 can confirm 100% that if you add traffic you need RAM too, and more than half what game offers by default (considering that most of the users have 8 or16 Gb and very few can afford 32 Gb or 64
@BeeAntOS thanks for the nice explanations

Re: Hi-End Configuration Optimization

Posted: 21 Sep 2020 22:54
by BenganJ
@BeeAntOS

What has mm_pool_size to do with mm_max_tmp_buffers_size?
As far as I know the only relation there is between the startuo
mm-parameters is the one between mm_max_resource_size
and mm_max_tmp_buffers_size. The pool_size is a general
memory pool for the resources used in game. Correct me if
I'm wrong!

Re: Hi-End Configuration Optimization

Posted: 22 Sep 2020 16:08
by BeeAntOS
@BenganJ
I checked again after you, and you are absolutely right... it's my bad!
I apologize again to you and everyone for that fault of my.

Re: Hi-End Configuration Optimization

Posted: 22 Sep 2020 16:13
by BenganJ
@BeeAntOS

No problem mate!

Re: Hi-End Configuration Optimization

Posted: 25 Sep 2020 12:46
by supersobes
@BenganJ I've searched through this thread, but I can not seem to find a definite answer. Were you able to find a solution to the problem you described in post 117? I think I have a similar issue, but I can not seem to find a cause of a fix for it.

Re: Hi-End Configuration Optimization

Posted: 25 Sep 2020 13:26
by BenganJ
@supersobes

Nope, as that phenomena has been with us as long as I can remember and I bought
ETS2 right from the beginning. Must have something with ahead loading of objects
and I think it is occurring often when nearing a town/city where there's plenty of
new objects, but I can be totally wrong here. If so, please correct me, because I
REALLY want to know too. Max, are you there?

Re: Hi-End Configuration Optimization

Posted: 25 Sep 2020 13:41
by supersobes
@BenganJ Thanks for your reply. That's unfortunate that there's no solution for this yet. The thing that I find really odd is that this particular issue appears to be much less prominent in ATS, even though it should be the same under the hood as ETS2 is. From what I've seen, not everyone who plays this game has such an issue, but it does seem that a fair amount of players do observe it. I really wonder what the cause could be. Like you, I've observed increased reproducibility of the problem when approaching things such as large intersection prefabs and cities and towns. I don't know if it might have something to do with texture size or polygon count, but I've also noticed that the problem is particularly bad in some of the higher detailed trucks such as the Scania S and the Renault T. I don't run any mods either, so I can just imagine what it's like for people with highly detailed mods.

Re: Hi-End Configuration Optimization

Posted: 25 Sep 2020 14:08
by BenganJ
@supersobes

I agree with you totally and it would really be nice if we could get Max's opinion on it!