Is it possible to merge ETS2 and ATS into one game?

id.truckers.45
Posts: 1
Joined: 16 Sep 2020 01:45

Is it possible to merge ETS2 and ATS into one game?

#1 Post by id.truckers.45 » 16 Sep 2020 02:01

This is probably the weirdest question ever asked in this forum page, but I'm curious about that

User avatar
ArikTheBuilder
Posts: 1252
Joined: 06 Oct 2018 09:00
Location: Twitterstangradburgvile

Re: Is it possible to merge ETS2 and ATS into one game?

#2 Post by ArikTheBuilder » 16 Sep 2020 11:34

Everything is possible in theory
Developing France, Denmark and bits of Belgium in EuRoadNet. 🇫🇷🇩🇰🇧🇪
Translating ETS2 and ATS into Hebrew. 🇮🇱
And stuff

User avatar
pigbrother
Posts: 2471
Joined: 03 Jun 2016 07:36
Location: Romania
Contact:

Re: Is it possible to merge ETS2 and ATS into one game?

#3 Post by pigbrother » 16 Sep 2020 11:39

Why would you do that

User avatar
ArikTheBuilder
Posts: 1252
Joined: 06 Oct 2018 09:00
Location: Twitterstangradburgvile

Re: Is it possible to merge ETS2 and ATS into one game?

#4 Post by ArikTheBuilder » 16 Sep 2020 23:59

To haul all the way from Seattle to Madrid 🤔
Developing France, Denmark and bits of Belgium in EuRoadNet. 🇫🇷🇩🇰🇧🇪
Translating ETS2 and ATS into Hebrew. 🇮🇱
And stuff

Georg Haeder
Posts: 19
Joined: 30 Jul 2019 16:28

Re: Is it possible to merge ETS2 and ATS into one game?

#5 Post by Georg Haeder » 17 Sep 2020 14:08

Hauling all the way from Seattle to Madrid?
That's already done, it's called air cargo. :lol: :lol:

Some newbie driver
Posts: 3716
Joined: 12 Dec 2018 11:37

Re: Is it possible to merge ETS2 and ATS into one game?

#6 Post by Some newbie driver » 17 Sep 2020 14:09

SCS flight simulator confirmed! :lol:

Georg Haeder
Posts: 19
Joined: 30 Jul 2019 16:28

Re: Is it possible to merge ETS2 and ATS into one game?

#7 Post by Georg Haeder » 17 Sep 2020 14:13

*dream mode on* pack the stuff on a intermodal in Seattle and haul it to a harbor on the west coast from there with a freighter to Madrid and then with a truck to its final destination.
SCS proudly presents: World Logistics Simulator on a holodeck near you in Q4 2225. :D

User avatar
flight50
Posts: 16436
Joined: 20 May 2017 03:33
Location: Dallas/Ft. Worth, Tx - USA

Re: Is it possible to merge ETS2 and ATS into one game?

#8 Post by flight50 » 17 Oct 2020 21:23

id.truckers.45 wrote:
16 Sep 2020 02:01
This is probably the weirdest question ever asked in this forum page, but I'm curious about that
Actually its not weird but its also not the first time this has been asked. If both games are to merge, the only way I see it is thru WoTr. If SCS figures it out, the only way they should link is thru sea ports and air ports. Currently there is no realistic port in ATS unless you assume the Panama canal is used to get to the Western ports. I'd at least wait til Texas before trying something like this though.

rip_c_bennington
Posts: 124
Joined: 30 Apr 2019 10:45
Location: Central Europe
Contact:

Re: Is it possible to merge ETS2 and ATS into one game?

#9 Post by rip_c_bennington » 18 Oct 2020 04:12

I wonder what is worse, drive an EU truck in the USA or a drive an US truck in Europe? :D

Some newbie driver
Posts: 3716
Joined: 12 Dec 2018 11:37

Re: Is it possible to merge ETS2 and ATS into one game?

#10 Post by Some newbie driver » 18 Oct 2020 10:03

An USA truck in Europe, specially if it's one of the more classic looks with the steering axle all to the front. You would have huge problems to drive comfortably on any non main-highway. And considering the strict total length limits for trucks in EU, you will be more limited in which trailers to pull too. It's possible though, I've seen a few of those trucks from time to time (there's one that do regular trips from Germany to Mallorca, carrying cars and motorcycles); but it's not practical neither optimal if you think it objectively.

An European truck in the USA on the other hand would have at most problems with the bridge law if we talk about a short wheel base; but there are models long enough that I think they will fulfill the restrictions. Then there's the point that (correct me if I'm wrong); newer trucks on USA have to be all conventional, not cab over, due some regulations about safety or something similar I read some time ago. That would limit a lot the European models that could be used on there because there's almost none in production actually (most of them are aftermarket modifications). But at the end I think the main problem a driver would face using a European truck on the USA will be to endure the laughs and mockery from other truckers about that little and narrow cubicle while the rest of them drive 5 stars suites over wheels. That could undermine anybody's determination to drive an European truck on there. :mrgreen:

Regards

Post Reply

Return to “General discussion about the game”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Frayner and 3 guests