Oculus Rift - experimental support

dhrto
Posts: 97
Joined: 04 Mar 2017 11:58

Re: Oculus Rift - experimental support

#521 Post by dhrto » 05 Apr 2017 17:15

@Komat: that would be very much appreciated, but I surely wouldn't want to prevent users of the DK2 hardware from playing ETS2. Or is the user base for those branches very low?

Meanwhile, I'm happy to pass my time in ATS (which I play without mods) while waiting for ProMods to update to 1.27 compatibility.

Ro0llo
Posts: 182
Joined: 13 Mar 2015 20:26

Re: Oculus Rift - experimental support

#522 Post by Ro0llo » 05 Apr 2017 19:30

Dk2 works fine with latest oculus sdk's. Im using the dk2 without any problems with the newest oculus branch.
=Intel i5 - 4460 | GTX970 | 16gb RAM | 240gb SSD | Oculus Rift=
Image

dhrto
Posts: 97
Joined: 04 Mar 2017 11:58

Re: Oculus Rift - experimental support

#523 Post by dhrto » 05 Apr 2017 19:53

Hmmm I thought the DK2 and DK1 were not compatible with the newer SDK versions. Then why the need for maintaining those older branches? Maybe Komat can enlighten us?

User avatar
Komat
SCS Software
Posts: 1068
Joined: 26 Nov 2012 09:22

Re: Oculus Rift - experimental support

#524 Post by Komat » 06 Apr 2017 09:03

They are there for compatibility. The 0.6 was the last version which supported extended mode. From what I heard the DK1 does not work with the latest runtime and as the 0.8 did not bring that much improvements over 0.7, I did not update to it. So the 0.7 build is the latest reasonably usable for DK1.

That said the number of users of those versions is very low.

Duckers
Posts: 3
Joined: 12 Apr 2017 14:37

Re: Oculus Rift - experimental support

#525 Post by Duckers » 12 Apr 2017 14:41

So, is there a date when the VR support is out of beta? It's been a beta branch for 5 years now, and i litterally can't wait to use this with truckersMP as looking around with the mouse is exhausting when i have to switch between the shifter and mouse to look around.

I also just tried the VR branch in singleplayer, and it works perfectly as far as i could tell aswell! No issues like the last time i tried where the left eye had heavy tearing/low fps and the other were fine. But today it works perfectly! Other than the game feels a bit junky, but it's now playable! So is there a date when we can get the VR out of beta branch and into the stable version?

User avatar
Lombra
Posts: 732
Joined: 27 Jan 2016 01:45
Location: Sweden

Re: Oculus Rift - experimental support

#526 Post by Lombra » 13 Apr 2017 12:45

Also curious about that. What are the missing pieces required to include VR in the main branch?

User avatar
klauzzy
Posts: 528
Joined: 22 Oct 2013 17:10
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Oculus Rift - experimental support

#527 Post by klauzzy » 16 Apr 2017 10:29

does someone else have the same problem with madmasters man tgx, e6, tgs and tga?
Only in vr my game crashes when i enter the man dealer or choose one of madmasters trucks?!
Image
Heilbronn 1:1 - Map

dbreuer
Posts: 1
Joined: 17 Apr 2017 13:20

Re: Oculus Rift - experimental support

#528 Post by dbreuer » 17 Apr 2017 13:23

@Klauzzy:

Same problem !!
I try it everytime, when new versions of Madster are out.

Only with VR ! Without: no problem

Would be interesting, what KOMAT will say !!

User avatar
klauzzy
Posts: 528
Joined: 22 Oct 2013 17:10
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Oculus Rift - experimental support

#529 Post by klauzzy » 17 Apr 2017 18:42

i found kind of a solution....
....buy and modify the truck without vr.
Switch back to vr and drive.
The game crashes only when you enter the dealer or when you want to modify.
Image
Heilbronn 1:1 - Map

User avatar
Katixa
Posts: 262
Joined: 06 Feb 2013 20:19

Re: Oculus Rift - experimental support

#530 Post by Katixa » 26 Apr 2017 14:32

Hi there,

Yesterday I received an update on Steam (around 10Mb) on the Oculus Branch.

Does anyone know what was it? Maybe the normal branch was updated with some hotfixes that were applied here too? Or was this something more Oculus specific?


Also there's this thing happening to me from a few days ago, and I would like to know if it happens to someone else: First time after launching the game, when playing for a few minutes (didn't count, must be always around 5-10), game seems to jump to desktop, and I have to manually Alt+Tab. After this, it doesn't happen anymore, unless I restart the whole game again.

Thanks!
Every day above ground is a good day.

Post Reply

Return to “General discussion about the game”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Pengu and 6 guests