how to use more than 5 controllers (on PC)?

Post Reply
AlBundy
Posts: 9
Joined: 19 Apr 2020 16:15

how to use more than 5 controllers (on PC)?

#1 Post by AlBundy » 15 May 2021 18:48

I've recently build a cheap truck shifter knob (like skrs) that is recognized as usb joystick.
"Unfortunetely" :-D I'm using already
- T300 Wheel
- T-LCM Pedals (not attached to the base because of the better resolution and calibrating options)
- TH8A shifter
- button box 1
- button box 2
- my new shifter knob for range, splitter and engine brake

as you can see i need 6 different inputs but in ets2 I can only select/configure 5 inputs. :-(

Has someone a hint how to use more than five controllers in ets2 (preferably without additional software)?
AlBundy
Posts: 9
Joined: 19 Apr 2020 16:15

Re: how to use more than 5 controllers (on PC)?

#2 Post by AlBundy » 16 May 2021 12:38

To answer my own question it's "raltive easy"...

Goto your Documents, Euro Truck Simulator 2 folder.
This should be something like %USERPROFILE%\Documents\Euro Truck Simulator 2

There you'll find a global_controls.sii - open this file with an editor of your choice (in my case notepad++)

Now search for the name of your sixth controller.
In my case Arduino Leonardo TruckShifter

Then you'll find something like

Code: Select all

display_names[18]: "`di8.'{ABCD123-456-7890-ABCD-1234567890ABC}|{ABCD1234-0000-0000-0000-1234567890AB}'`|Arduino Leonardo TruckShifter"
The part inside the `` seems to be the id of your controller (di8.'{ABCD123-456-7890-ABCD-1234567890ABC}|{ABCD1234-0000-0000-0000-1234567890AB}')

Now you have to search for the file controls.sii inside your profiles or steam_profiles folder (depending on your settings).

Bevor we edit this file open ets2 and configure your controllers.
use you sixth controller as the last in the list (should be the fith) and configure the buttons you want.

Now set the correct controller as fiths controller.
Now my buttons do not respond in game.

But now comes the trick.

Open the controls.sii from above and check the first lines.
There you should find device joy2, device joy3, ... device joy6
where joy5 seemst to be the last from the list inside the game and joy6 seems to be empty

Code: Select all

config_lines[9]: "device joy6 ``"
Now insert the controller id from global_controls.sii in joy6

Code: Select all

config_lines[9]: "device joy6 `di8.'{ABCD123-456-7890-ABCD-1234567890ABC}|{ABCD1234-0000-0000-0000-1234567890AB}'`"
and seach for all assignements to joy5 and change it to joy6
for example change

Code: Select all

config_lines[290]: "mix motorbrake `unbound?0 | joy5.b2?0 | semantical.motorbrake?0`"
to

Code: Select all

config_lines[290]: "mix motorbrake `unbound?0 | joy6.b2?0 | semantical.motorbrake?0`"
after that you can start ets2 or load you profile, configure you current fiths controller (because we already have setup joy6) and now you can use 6 controllers instead of "only" 5. :-)

My explanation may sound a little bit weird but it's really easy if you have a look at the mentioned files. :-)
User avatar
Fawls
Posts: 624
Joined: 10 Nov 2017 04:57
Location: New Zealand

Re: how to use more than 5 controllers (on PC)?

#3 Post by Fawls » 23 Aug 2023 23:49

You are a lifesaver pal that worked a treat, I could not get my indicators to work after changing from a Logitech wheel where the wheel, pedals and shifter were one input to three separate inputs.

I have six inputs;

1: Wheel
2:Pedals
3:Shifter
4:Shfter switches (Range & Split)
5:Button Box
6:Indicators (left, right, high beam & flash)

All now work, cheers.
DO NOT BUY FROM CSIO TECHNOLOGIES
They'll take your payment immediately and not fulfill order.

Comp Specs: R7 5700X, 6900XT, 32GB Ram.
AlBundy
Posts: 9
Joined: 19 Apr 2020 16:15

Re: how to use more than 5 controllers (on PC)?

#4 Post by AlBundy » 26 Aug 2023 23:33

Glad to hear that this worked for you too.
It would be nice if ets2 and ats would support more controllers out of the box. :-)
chris94deak
Posts: 1
Joined: 03 Dec 2023 05:59

Re: how to use more than 5 controllers (on PC)?

#5 Post by chris94deak » 03 Dec 2023 06:01

Hi. I tried this and it worked perfectly. Now I got a 7th controller but this time there is no joy 7 option. Is there any way that I could use 7 controllers ?
Post Reply

Return to “Technical Problems”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests