Unable to Load Base Map in Editor

Post Reply
User avatar
supersobes
Global moderator
Posts: 12247
Joined: 07 Dec 2016 21:53
Location: Northern Virginia, USA
Contact:

Unable to Load Base Map in Editor

#1 Post by supersobes » 25 Nov 2020 21:37

If I try to open the base map, usa.mbd, in the map editor, the only thing that shows up are the parked vehicles on the map. None of the other map scenery shows up. I had the base map working just fine in the editor two weeks ago, but now I can't get it to work anymore. Does anyone know how I can fix this?

For example, this is what Hobbs, New Mexico looks like for me in the editor.

Image

User avatar
Reinhard
Posts: 5270
Joined: 20 Dec 2012 16:46
Location: Nimby, District of Berlin

Re: Unable to Load Base Map in Editor

#2 Post by Reinhard » 25 Nov 2020 21:45

Check "Items" and "Pins" in the "View->Item visibility" window. I guess everything is disabled. At least I get a result like you, If I fully disable both categories.

User avatar
supersobes
Global moderator
Posts: 12247
Joined: 07 Dec 2016 21:53
Location: Northern Virginia, USA
Contact:

Re: Unable to Load Base Map in Editor

#3 Post by supersobes » 25 Nov 2020 21:49

It seems that everything is already checked in item visibility. Am I missing something here?

Image

User avatar
Reinhard
Posts: 5270
Joined: 20 Dec 2012 16:46
Location: Nimby, District of Berlin

Re: Unable to Load Base Map in Editor

#4 Post by Reinhard » 25 Nov 2020 22:00

No. You can open the sections to be sure, but the checkmarks clearly say "everything selected".

I would rename the "editor" folder. To see if your saved editor settings are wrong.

User avatar
supersobes
Global moderator
Posts: 12247
Joined: 07 Dec 2016 21:53
Location: Northern Virginia, USA
Contact:

Re: Unable to Load Base Map in Editor

#5 Post by supersobes » 25 Nov 2020 22:02

Is there anything in particular that I should rename it to, or does it just have to be different than "editor" so that the game cannot detect it and creates a new one?

User avatar
Reinhard
Posts: 5270
Joined: 20 Dec 2012 16:46
Location: Nimby, District of Berlin

Re: Unable to Load Base Map in Editor

#6 Post by Reinhard » 25 Nov 2020 22:23

Any name will do. Personally, I just delete it whenever a problem occurs. Especially after a game update. I don't mind the lost settings much.

BTW, the editor is always a fickle tool, I've learned to save often because the editor can crash at an time. Or work like charm for many editing hours, you never know. But with 1.39, for the first time in all these years, I had several crashes while saving the map. That is with ETS 2, I don't do anything with ATS.

User avatar
supersobes
Global moderator
Posts: 12247
Joined: 07 Dec 2016 21:53
Location: Northern Virginia, USA
Contact:

Re: Unable to Load Base Map in Editor

#7 Post by supersobes » 26 Nov 2020 03:07

Renaming the editor file and forcing the game to write a new one solved my problem. Thanks, Reinhard! :)

About saving often, I don't actually have to worry about it. I'm not really working on a project; I'm simply just messing around with the editor to see how the game world is built. ;)

Post Reply

Return to “Technical Problems”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests