Hi-End Configuration Optimization

User avatar
room217au
Posts: 2717
Joined: 17 Jul 2015 01:55
Location: Lakeside

Re: Hi-End Configuration Optimization

#741 Post by room217au » 09 Jan 2022 00:03

@bumbumek
The parameters you use depend on what you want them to do. For example, a large number for resource size loads bigger files (models, textures etc) without complaint.
If you have a large number of small files to load ( a map mod for example ) then a smaller resource size resulting in a larger tmp_buffers size means the game loads more 'things' at once.

Always remember that the 100 and 1000 are MAXIMAL values. Larger numbers doesn't necessarily guarantee better performance.

max_tmp_buffers_size divided by max_resource_size equals number of temporary loading buffers minus 1.
If you suck at playing the trumpet, that's probably why.
User avatar
bumbumek
Posts: 2813
Joined: 02 Jun 2014 13:14
Location: Poznań, Poland

Re: Hi-End Configuration Optimization

#742 Post by bumbumek » 09 Jan 2022 09:13

Thank you. So if I have almost 70 mods (including custom maps), but none of them has a single file over 30 mb (I have no warnings "insufficient buffer size" in my gamelog), my values 4096/32/1000 are a good combination for better performance? What would happen if I decrease tmp buffer size from 1000 to 500? My performance would be worse?
And finally, using all those mods mentioned by me - is it good that I always have 31 allocated buffers in game, or not?
User avatar
plykkegaard
Posts: 7204
Joined: 26 Oct 2014 13:42

Re: Hi-End Configuration Optimization

#743 Post by plykkegaard » 09 Jan 2022 10:10

It depends on your hardware not number or size of your mods
You should be able to find some calculations online

Imo 8Gb is a bit on the low side to exoeriment with advanced setting as you have little overhead

8Gb is not highend

This signature virus has been spliced with the Fundementalism-B virus to create a new more contagious strain. Please look for it infecting a signature near you.
User avatar
bumbumek
Posts: 2813
Joined: 02 Jun 2014 13:14
Location: Poznań, Poland

Re: Hi-End Configuration Optimization

#744 Post by bumbumek » 09 Jan 2022 17:37

Many ppl with 8 gb RAM use that launch command...
Some newbie driver
Posts: 7198
Joined: 12 Dec 2018 11:37

Re: Hi-End Configuration Optimization

#745 Post by Some newbie driver » 09 Jan 2022 17:50

But not all people has the same RAM amount available when launching those commands.

And since quite time, 8GB is the minimum for a computer to work just well if having Win10. That hog eats too many resources since Microsoft decided they don't want to fight anymore the smartphone battle. Until then they keept at bay their old habits to play funny with system resources; but not anymore.
User avatar
plykkegaard
Posts: 7204
Joined: 26 Oct 2014 13:42

Re: Hi-End Configuration Optimization

#746 Post by plykkegaard » 09 Jan 2022 18:00

I didn't say you couldn't use the option
But you need to use it according to the guidelines

Please check the first page of this topic
viewtopic.php?f=41&t=261451&hilit=high+end+optimization

This signature virus has been spliced with the Fundementalism-B virus to create a new more contagious strain. Please look for it infecting a signature near you.
User avatar
bumbumek
Posts: 2813
Joined: 02 Jun 2014 13:14
Location: Poznań, Poland

Re: Hi-End Configuration Optimization

#747 Post by bumbumek » 09 Jan 2022 18:11

I have read this many times, but I'm not that good with computers to find best possible values for me on my own, that's why I scream for help in here :-) Btw, I have Win7.
User avatar
room217au
Posts: 2717
Joined: 17 Jul 2015 01:55
Location: Lakeside

Re: Hi-End Configuration Optimization

#748 Post by room217au » 09 Jan 2022 21:52

bumbumek wrote: 09 Jan 2022 09:13is it good that I always have 31 allocated buffers in game, or not?
Default number is 5, so 30 will allow the game to load more 'things' at once. Technically, that should improve loading times.
The game.log warnings are just warnings. The resource is loaded anyway (given that the resource in question is less than 100Mb) but the warnings annoyed me :)

-mm_max_resource_size 66 -mm_max_tmp_buffers_size 726
is what I use, but I have some larger models to load.
I don't use the mm_pool statement because the game uses all the available RAM automatically. This is a deprecated parameter. It still works but last I heard it is not required anymore.
If you suck at playing the trumpet, that's probably why.
User avatar
bumbumek
Posts: 2813
Joined: 02 Jun 2014 13:14
Location: Poznań, Poland

Re: Hi-End Configuration Optimization

#749 Post by bumbumek » 09 Jan 2022 23:43

Thank you dear. So having tmp_buffers_size 1000 with my mm_max_resource_size 32 is harmless, and shouldn't do anything wrong in my game? :D Sorry for all those questions, I'm really no computer expert :|
User avatar
room217au
Posts: 2717
Joined: 17 Jul 2015 01:55
Location: Lakeside

Re: Hi-End Configuration Optimization

#750 Post by room217au » 10 Jan 2022 00:29

@bumbumek As @plykkegaard said, the only issue might be the amount of RAM available.
With the launch options you and others have, the game is using more RAM than originally designed.
Before I started using the parameters mentioned here, my game (ETS2 and ATS) would crash after maybe an hour of play. It was because I had some huge models being loaded. Since that time I've learned to edit those models and optimise them (mods only) and the game runs beautifully.
If you suck at playing the trumpet, that's probably why.
Post Reply

Return to “General discussion about the game”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: MLH82, VCTsoup and 10 guests