Hard Crash when loading ATS

Dirtnappin
Posts: 8
Joined: 20 May 2020 23:04

Hard Crash when loading ATS

#1 Post by Dirtnappin » 20 May 2020 23:17

windows 10, nvidia rtx 2070, 16 gig ram, I5-6400

So I just updated ATS and bought all the available maps today. I went and started the game, and shortly after logo my whole system restarted. I redownloaded everything and same thing. there is no crash log at all as it is sudden and complete system shutdown. All my other games work just fine. (most of them are much more resource unfriendly).

I see threads of people crashing to desktop, but nobody having a complete pc restart.

things i have tried:
complete reinstall.
checked for graphics drivers update.
rolled back drivers
checked system temps (longshot of overheating) but not even close.
verified it was only ATS.

also setting these to 0 did not help.
uset cf_asus_aura "0"
uset cf_razer_chroma "0"

game.log can be found here.
https://pastebin.com/d8vcv0CY
Last edited by Dirtnappin on 21 May 2020 00:19, edited 2 times in total.

Dirtnappin
Posts: 8
Joined: 20 May 2020 23:04

Re: Hard Crash when loading ATS

#2 Post by Dirtnappin » 20 May 2020 23:32

It crashes mainly at the profile screen where it asks if you want to auto check for updates.

edit: It started in the safe mode option. however with any other option its a hard crash. anyone have any idea's?

Dirtnappin
Posts: 8
Joined: 20 May 2020 23:04

Re: Hard Crash when loading ATS

#3 Post by Dirtnappin » 23 May 2020 01:15

OK still not working... here is what i learned.

I can start the game in safe mode. i can do profile stuff just fine in safe mode. i can load into the game and drive around just fine.
Now, in safe mode the graphics look terrible being at the lowest setting. so i maxed em out and run around 240 fps. if I save the game and go back to the profile screen, instant hard crash right after profiles appear.

So what i learned is there is something wrong with the profile menu.

User avatar
Madkine
Posts: 2380
Joined: 08 Oct 2018 16:35
Location: Australia
Contact:

Re: Hard Crash when loading ATS

#4 Post by Madkine » 23 May 2020 03:31

00:00:02.638 : <ERROR> [unit] The file '<C:/Users/bob/Documents/American Truck Simulator | /home>/global_controls.sii' does not contain serialised units - missing magic mark.
00:00:02.638 : <ERROR> load_unit_tree() - Failed to load unit tree from file (/home/global_controls.sii)

This is possibly your problem, a corrupted controls file.

Save the current file somewhere as a backup then delete this file and let the game create it again.

Dirtnappin
Posts: 8
Joined: 20 May 2020 23:04

Re: Hard Crash when loading ATS

#5 Post by Dirtnappin » 24 May 2020 06:33

Madkine wrote:
23 May 2020 03:31
00:00:02.638 : <ERROR> [unit] The file '<C:/Users/bob/Documents/American Truck Simulator | /home>/global_controls.sii' does not contain serialised units - missing magic mark.
00:00:02.638 : <ERROR> load_unit_tree() - Failed to load unit tree from file (/home/global_controls.sii)

This is possibly your problem, a corrupted controls file.

Save the current file somewhere as a backup then delete this file and let the game create it again.
You sir are a genius!! that was the magic trick to make the game work! now the question is, why did it do this all 3 fresh installs? and why did it crash so hard it restarted my pc?

User avatar
Madkine
Posts: 2380
Joined: 08 Oct 2018 16:35
Location: Australia
Contact:

Re: Hard Crash when loading ATS

#6 Post by Madkine » 24 May 2020 08:12

This file is not removed or replaced when you uninstall and re-install the game as it is considered a user file.
I can't answer as to why it caused a PC restart.

Dirtnappin
Posts: 8
Joined: 20 May 2020 23:04

Re: Hard Crash when loading ATS

#7 Post by Dirtnappin » 24 May 2020 08:35

I cleared out all the files when i reinstalled it each time. That is just the way it installed each time.

Dirtnappin
Posts: 8
Joined: 20 May 2020 23:04

Re: Hard Crash when loading ATS

#8 Post by Dirtnappin » 24 May 2020 08:39

ok reinstalled it again. same thing. deleted that file again. it worked. restarted and not working. this time no errors or warnings.
I would like to add, that the only difference between that one file was a line for an xbox controller. which i removed and the error is gone now. but still crashing like it was but now at the american truck simulator logo screen. doesn't even show the profile now as it crashes immediately right before it is supposed to show.

https://pastebin.com/W55k89LC

IonutL
Posts: 3111
Joined: 13 Apr 2014 20:16

Re: Hard Crash when loading ATS

#9 Post by IonutL » 24 May 2020 15:53

You could open the config.cfg file from ~Documents/American Truck Simulator folder. Scroll to the bottom of it and replace the value for the following lines from 1 to 0:

Code: Select all

uset cf_asus_aura "0"
uset cf_razer_chroma "0"

Dirtnappin
Posts: 8
Joined: 20 May 2020 23:04

Re: Hard Crash when loading ATS

#10 Post by Dirtnappin » 24 May 2020 20:41

IonutL wrote:
24 May 2020 15:53
You could open the config.cfg file from ~Documents/American Truck Simulator folder. Scroll to the bottom of it and replace the value for the following lines from 1 to 0:

Code: Select all

uset cf_asus_aura "0"
uset cf_razer_chroma "0"
already did that. no difference.

Post Reply

Return to “Technical Problems”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests