gps, message center not working

Post Reply
fortune1524
Posts: 9
Joined: 11 Jan 2020 02:04

gps, message center not working

#1 Post by fortune1524 » 02 Aug 2020 02:34

So I came across this problem recently and I ended up deleting Jazzy cats Painted AI truck and trailer mod and it worked for a little while and then all of a sudden it did it again. I have no gps thats built into the dash over where the gauge cluster is, and the message center in the new trucks interior isnt working either to give me my miles and temps digitally. I checked my log files and in game via console and found nothing... Im curious to see if anybody else is having the same problem or not... Thanks!

User avatar
room217au
Posts: 2830
Joined: 17 Jul 2015 01:55
Location: 'Straya

Re: gps, message center not working

#2 Post by room217au » 02 Aug 2020 03:29

I'm assuming you mean 'truck info' when you say 'message center'?
File locations (for Kenworth W900, for instance) are:

Code: Select all

	gps_path:"/ui/gps.sii"
	dashboard_path:"/ui/dashboard/kenworth_w900.sii"
Now, if there's a mod that has used these two files, but the author has modified them, and that modification makes the file(s) out of date, then the dasboard and gps displays will most likely be blank on any Kenworth (for example)
Since you haven't mentioned which or how many trucks in your game this affects, then the only other suggestion I can offer is that the 'old' issue with the dashboard displays has returned. There are other discussions on this forum about that.

Maybe you could try searching through your mods for those two sii files? If they exist ANYwhere else other than the SCS trucks, then whatever mod that is, is the culprit.
I know that some route advisor info and ID numbers have changed recently.
Two wrongs don't make a right, but three lefts.. do.

fortune1524
Posts: 9
Joined: 11 Jan 2020 02:04

Re: gps, message center not working

#3 Post by fortune1524 » 04 Aug 2020 03:00

yes that's what I was meaning, and it's for every single truck that has a digital readout for the message center or in the case "truck info" it doesn't matter if its a standard SCS truck, Rudas, Vipers, HTG, or RTA. Every single one of them did it. However, I did end up spending the remainder of one of my nights to attempt to figure it out, and it seems to be another traffic mod I had in there as well. Took it out, everything works great. It seems to me like I'm going to have to stay away from AI traffic mods for a while.. Lol. Thank you so much for your help though! I appreciate it!

User avatar
room217au
Posts: 2830
Joined: 17 Jul 2015 01:55
Location: 'Straya

Re: gps, message center not working

#4 Post by room217au » 04 Aug 2020 22:12

@fortune1524
No probs. I had the same problem with a kenworth years ago, and a couple of times since.
Two wrongs don't make a right, but three lefts.. do.

Post Reply

Return to “Help center - player to player”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest