what is the right way to put an background image on the map editor in 1.43?

Forum rules
SCS as a company do not wish to have paid mods on this forum. While we understand that not all paid mods use the Intellectual Property of other companies/people, it is very hard to moderate what is and isn't acceptable when money is involved. There are also concerns that it could look unfavorable to potential work partners going forward if SCS allow mods that may potentially use unlicensed branding.
Posting in the Mods forum (ATS and ETS2) is restricted to sharing free-to-the-public mods and providing support for mods. For more details, please check the Forum Rules.
Post Reply
HexDrifter
Posts: 11
Joined: 14 Nov 2020 19:55

what is the right way to put an background image on the map editor in 1.43?

#1 Post by HexDrifter » 26 Jan 2022 04:21

what is the right way to put an background image on the map editor in 1.43?, i need it for the latest version 1.43, in other tutorials i can't put a background image for the editor and i need the correct way to set an image and see it in the editor, i want to create a map from scratch and my problem is that, i can't load an background image, always shows the mesage "texture not found" and i don't know what to do
User avatar
Digital X
Posts: 2197
Joined: 28 Oct 2013 21:22
Location: Dover, Kent, UK.

Re: what is the right way to put an background image on the map editor in 1.43?

#2 Post by Digital X » 26 Jan 2022 04:43

What is the method you are currently doing?

I have a map background working at the moment, the process is fairly simple.

1. Make a material/editor folder structure.

Inside here you want the map background .dds texture (by the power of 2, so 1024x1024, 4096x4096 etc). Make sure it's DXT5, and untick Mipmaps. Paint.net is a decent & easy to use program for this, or GIMP.

A .mat file, put the following inside a text document using Notepad++ and call it (mymap.mat, or whatever name you choose) The .dds and .tobj should match up with the same name.

Code: Select all

material : "dry.tex"
{code]
	texture : "sanville.tobj"
	texture_name : "texture"
You then need to create a tobj, which can be done via tobjedit. If this throws up a "sanitized error" then redo the tobj in Mod Studio 2 and that should fix it.


2. In the extracted game files in the def folder, look for the "editor_data_custom.sui" file. Copy & adjust the below piece to match your needs. The bcg_size is read in meters.

Code: Select all

# Modders: Use this file to add your own map specification.

	bcg_map_name[]: "/map/visionz.mbd"
	bcg_material[]: "/material/editor/sanville.mat"
	bcg_size_x[]: 70000
	bcg_size_y[]: 70000
	bcg_offset_x[]: 0
	bcg_offset_y[]: 0
In your map mod folder make the def folder and put "editor_data_custom.sui" inside with your own changes.

There is a guide here: https://scsmoddingguide.github.io/mappi ... mport.html The only part that is out of data is the "editor_data" section, you should use the custom instead.

Also, just to show you it is working here's one I have at the moment: https://i.imgur.com/D9qvl5E.jpg
HexDrifter
Posts: 11
Joined: 14 Nov 2020 19:55

Re: what is the right way to put an background image on the map editor in 1.43?

#3 Post by HexDrifter » 29 Jan 2022 07:02

im tried that and i still have the same error with the background, i don't know what im doing wrong, here is my editor log


PD: excuse me if im writing bad, the english is not my native language
Attachments
editor.log.txt
(45.91 KiB) Downloaded 80 times
User avatar
Digital X
Posts: 2197
Joined: 28 Oct 2013 21:22
Location: Dover, Kent, UK.

Re: what is the right way to put an background image on the map editor in 1.43?

#4 Post by Digital X » 29 Jan 2022 19:39

What does your folder structure look like?

Also do you have mismatching .sui and .sii files?

Looking at this in the log: 00:00:04.181 : <ERROR> [fs] Failed to open file '/def/city/antofagasta.sii' in the read_only mode.

Also,

Your "city.mycity.sii" file should look like this:

Code: Select all

SiiNunit
{
@include "city/oakwood.sui"
}
Your "country.mycountry.sii" file should like this:

Code: Select all

SiiNunit
{
@include "country/sanville.sui"


# Recommended country identifiers for countries. Using those indices
# is not required however it improves compatibility with future DLCs
# or with other mods utilizing indices from this table.

# USA states

# 1 California
# 2 Nevada
# 3 Arizona
With your own city name at the top.
HexDrifter
Posts: 11
Joined: 14 Nov 2020 19:55

Re: what is the right way to put an background image on the map editor in 1.43?

#5 Post by HexDrifter » 04 Feb 2022 19:08

Hello again, i tried that too, i changed the map resolution, i changed the sii and sui files, and i still having the same error, here is my files

Edit: The image size is 8192x8192
Attachments
editor.log.txt
(32.8 KiB) Downloaded 55 times
country.chile.sii
(1.63 KiB) Downloaded 52 times
city.chile.sii
(615 Bytes) Downloaded 56 times
HexDrifter
Posts: 11
Joined: 14 Nov 2020 19:55

Re: what is the right way to put an background image on the map editor in 1.43?

#6 Post by HexDrifter » 15 Mar 2023 06:43

finally i fixed the error, i put no workshop and force mods commands on steam while i'm launching the game on editor mode
bluefoot
Posts: 1
Joined: 20 Aug 2023 00:00

Re: what is the right way to put an background image on the map editor in 1.43?

#7 Post by bluefoot » 20 Aug 2023 00:05

I'm having issues also with mine. No errors in the console either.

editor_data_cutom.sui is in mod/user_map/def

Code: Select all

	bcg_map_name[]: "/map/alberta.mbd"
	bcg_material[]: "/material/editor/alberta.mat"
	bcg_size_x[]: 156142
	bcg_size_y[]: 238737
	bcg_offset_x[]: 0
	bcg_offset_y[]: 0
alberta.dds, alberta.mat and alberta.tobj are all in mod/user_map/material/editor

Code: Select all

material : "dry.tex"
{
texture : "alberta.tobj"
texture_name : "texture"
}
*EDIT* Same issue as the nice guy above, I just forced the mods wrong, to those who stumble upon this post in 3 months, the command is "-force_mods" not "-forcemods"
Attachments
editor.log.txt
(34.59 KiB) Downloaded 35 times
Last edited by bluefoot on 20 Aug 2023 00:27, edited 2 times in total.
AlekMiroslav
Posts: 1
Joined: 01 Jul 2023 21:01

Re: what is the right way to put an background image on the map editor in 1.43?

#8 Post by AlekMiroslav » 19 Feb 2024 12:40

Hello;

I am struggling also with my map background. Here is my editor log that says that there is a synthx error at the third line of the "corse.mat" file.

Other files seems correct

user_map
-def
--editor_data_custom.sui
---# INTERNAL MEMBERS: Insert your map specification to mod_internal.
# (\mod_internal\base\def\editor_data_custom.sui)
# Modders: Use this file to add your own map specification.

bcg_map_name[]: "/map/corse.mbd"
bcg_material[]: "/material/editor/corse.mat"
bcg_size_x[]: 150000
bcg_size_y[]: 150000
bcg_offset_x[]: 0
bcg_offset_y[]: 0

-map
--corse.mbd
--corse

-material
--editor
---corde.dds
---corse.tobj
---corse.mat
----material : "dry.tex"

texture : "corse.tobj"
texture_name : "texture"

Thanks !
Attachments
editor.log.txt
(48.66 KiB) Downloaded 6 times
Post Reply

Return to “Help requests”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests