Heavy FPS drops

Ivanion

Heavy FPS drops

#1 Post by Ivanion » 06 Oct 2022 08:26

Hi everybody.

I'm encountering a big problem when playing ETS2 on my laptop: I have massive FPS drops in Iberia DLC content and, in a lower amount, in Austria's new areas.
But let me take a step back: I started playing Iberia DLC as long as it came out and I immediately started having problems (FPS drops and lags, for which I mean that the game completely stops for half a second/a second), I also tried it on a completely new vanilla profile and it still caused low performance. Then I discovered that it was not well optimized and waited for a patch. After some time I retried it and things went better: I was doing 50 FPS (whereas in other map areas I was doing 60) but still had lags here and there. With Austria I have actually the same issue but with much lower lags (and only during daytime).

A week ago I started to play again after a while. I had a completely new save with a few mods; the 2 mods which might impact performance are Promods and Cipinho's Traffic density mod, but I'm thinking that it's not their fault in this case.
Firstly I went to Austria and as long as it was nighttime I had steady 60 FPS, then as the sun rose I started having FPS drops (about 40 FPS with minor lags in the game). The problem is that as I left Austria for Germany the FPS drops resisted (I don't have FPS drops in Germany if I start playing there).
Secondly I tried to go to Spain to see how it went: as soon as I passed through the last toolboth in southern France I started to witness FPS drops (to 25-30 FPS) and a lot of lag. The experience got worse when I reached Barcelona: I entered the tunnel section on the highway cutting through the city and FPS dropped to 1 only, the game started stopping and sometimes it got back to desktop and then restarted again.