New to Sim - what are reliable/legit sites for mods/addons?

OldTiredSailor

New to Sim - what are reliable/legit sites for mods/addons?

#1 Post by OldTiredSailor » 06 Jun 2023 19:38

I have been running simulations, both professionally and as a gamer, for over 40-years. I am heavily involved, both hardware and software, with Microsoft Flight Sim 2020, Assetto Corsa, Train Sim Classic.

ATS looks wonderful and I am just beginning my education and usage. I see a lot of sites with mods/addons and wonder which are the best for legit/high quality addons.

I don't mind paying for addons but it sure looks like this community has a vast array of free or very inexpensive addons.

SO - From where can I safely download?

I use Steam for all my games and assume that is the logical way to do ATS? Have I got that right?

I have a dedicated gaming machine with no security software but download to a separate machine that is loaded with security stuff. Once the download passes all those tests - I move it to the gaming machine.
Last edited by OldTiredSailor on 06 Jun 2023 19:47, edited 1 time in total.
Mohegan13
Global moderator

Re: New to Sim - what are reliable/legit sites for mods/addons?

#2 Post by Mohegan13 » 07 Jun 2023 09:10

This forum, Steam Workshop, and an individual authors own website. Those are the only places you should really trust.

Personally I would say just use Workshop since it's the easiest for the average mod user and you don't have to worry about dodgy links and ads.

I would advise avoiding any other site as they are not monitored (even if they claim they do), any one can upload anything, including outdated/stolen content.
[ external image ]
I reserve the right to be 100% wrong.
Something isn't right, nothing feels the same.
Everyone around me Is a different shade of grey.
nautofon

Re: New to Sim - what are reliable/legit sites for mods/addons?

#3 Post by nautofon » 11 Jun 2023 11:06